Mississippi State University

Table of Contents


  1. Landmark Building Tour

    A self-guided walking tour of MSU's historic buildings.


    1. Lee Hall

      Lee Hall. 1909. Beaux Arts. Named for Stephen Dill Lee, the first president of the university, Lee Hall was built as an academic building and chapel. In the early years, it served as the main administration building housing the President, his secretary, the registrar, the comptroller, and the commandant of cadets. Also, up to 150 classes were conducted there daily. In October of 1948 a fire broke out on the roof where construction workers had been working with tar. The fire destroyed the fourth floor and most of the third floor. Damages were estimated at $1 million. Repair work began almost immediately after the fire, and Lee Hall was restored to its old form. The building reopened in 2014 after receiving a $21 million dollar renovation. Today, this grand building houses the English Department, Foreign Languages, President's Office, and Provost's Office.

    2. McCain Engineering Building

      McCain Engineering Building. 1905. Beaux Arts. Richard H. Hunt, architect. Known for many years as the Engineering Building, it was eventually named for Professor Dewey M. McCain, longtime head of the civil engineering department. Renovated in 2003, it currently houses the Dean of the Bagley College of Engineering and the industrial engineering department.

    3. Carpenter Hall

      Carpenter Engineering Building. 1910. Beaux Arts. Named for Randle Churchill Carpenter (class of 1895), the first graduate of the engineering school and head of the mechanical engineering department 1918-1938. Houses the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

    4. Bowen Hall

      Bowen Hall. 1929. Romanesque Revival. Named for James V. Bowen, father of the business curriculum at Mississippi State. Bowen, who had only one eye, was known to the students as "Bad Eye." Houses the Department of Political Science and the Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work.

    5. Steam Plant

      Power Plant. 1921. Industrial.

    6. Herbert Hall

      Herbert Hall. 1929. Romanesque Revival. Named for John C. Herbert, early professor of humanities/government. Herbert Hall serves as the home for the Department of Housing and Residence Life as well as additional housing for students and conferences.

    7. Industrial Education and Seed Laboratory

      Industrial Education and Seed Laboratory. 1900. Italianate. The Industrial Education Building started out as the Textile Building, home of the short-lived textile school. By 1914, with virtually no enrollment, the textile school dismantled its machinery and was out of business. This building is easily recognized because of its distinctive twin towers and triple arches. Throughout its history, this building has been home to agricultural engineering, the building and grounds department, and most recently, to the technology and education program. The National Register of Historic Places added the Industrial Education Building to its list in 1975.

    8. Stennis Institute

      The Stennis Institute of Government. 1928. Commercial. Originally the campus depot for the Mobile and Ohio Rail Road.

    9. Montgomery Hall

      Montgomery Hall. 1902. Beaux Art. Richard H. Hunt, architect. Montgomery Hall was originally known as the Scientific Hall because it housed all the science classes, but it also accomodated the university's library for a short time, too. As volumes in the library increased, space in the second and third floor apse, to which the library was consigned, remained limited. So the library was moved in 1921 to newly built Harned Hall. The Scientific Hall was renovated in 1939 and renamed for Col. W.B. Montgomery, great-grandfather of Rep. Sonny Montgomery (D-Miss.).

    10. Perry Cafeteria

      Perry Hall (University Cafeteria). 1921. Late Gothic Revew. The gothic arches and wood beams that support its gabled roof are more suggestive of a cathedral than a cafeteria. A the time it was built, the University Cafeteria was the largest college cafeteria in the United States; so big, it was also used as a dance hall. This massive structure stands 368 feet long, 90 feet wide, and the ceilings are 50 feet high. Also, the cafeteria has a seating capacity of 1100. In 1993, Jane Perry provided the university with a $1.5 million gift annuity to renovate and preserve the cafeteria. Mrs. Perry made the gift in memory of her late husband, George D. Perry, a 1919 graduate of what was then Mississippi A&M College. In recognition of Mrs. Perry's gift and George Perry's long association with his alma mater, the name of the university's cafeteria was changed to Perry Hall.

    11. Lloyd-Ricks-Watson Building

      Lloyd-Ricks Building. 1929. Jacobethan Revival.Named for E.R. Lloyd, director of both the experiment station and extension service around 1915; J.R. Ricks, director of the experiment station, extension service and school of agriculture from 1935 to his death in 1938; and former MSU President Vance Watson.

    12. Hull Hall

      Hull Hall. 1938. Georgian Revival. Named for David C. Hull, president from 1920 to 1925.

    13. YMCA Building

      YMCA Building. 1914. Italianate. The Young Men's Christian Association organized at the university in 1882. As membership and activities rose, the need for a YMCA building became evident. John D. Rockefeller pledged $40,000 to the cost of construction, under the condition that the students would raise the other $20,000 that was needed. Dr. W.A. Weatherford, an official of the Southern Area YMCA, came to the university, organized the students, and led the fundraising campaign. The money was raised, and the building was erected. For many years, the YMCA called this building home. Today, it is still known as the YMCA Building, and it houses the Post Office.

    14. George Hall

      George Hall. 1902. Colonial Revival. When it was built as the campus infirmary, the James Z. George Memorial Hospital was considered one of the best facilities of its kind in the South. George, who as a United States senator became known as "The Great Commoner," was extremely instrumental in securing appropriations for the construction. In 1918, a Spanish flu epidemic took its toll on the campus of Mississippi State, and several students succumbed. Because of this, a temporary embalming operation was set up in the basement of the infirmary. The James Z. George Memorial Hospital served as the university's medical facility until 1965. Today, George Hall is home to the Office of Public Affairs, the university's public information office.

    15. Magruder Hall

      Magruder Hall. 1938. Georgian Revival. Named for W.H. Magruder, the head of the English department from 1883 to 1908. Houses the Department of Psychology.

    16. Harned Hall

      Harned Hall. 1921. Late Gothic. Originally known as the Biology Building, it was eventually named for H.H. Harned, long-time head of the microbiology department. The library was moved from Montgomery Hall to Harned Hall in 1921 and remained there until Mitchell Memorial Library was built in 1952.

    17. Middleton ROTC Building

      Middleton Hall (ROTC Building). 1910. Colonial Revival. From 1910 until 1940, the ROTC Building was the home of the Dairy Department. After the Dairy Department moved out, the building became known as the Student Activities Building until 1951. That is when the Military Science Department moved into the building. They shared the building with the Famous Maroon Band until 1954, when the Band moved to its present location. The Military Science Department (Army ROTC) continues to occupy the building today, along with the Aerospace Studies Department (Air Force ROTC). In 1986, the building was named after General Troy H. Middleton, commander of the 45th Infantry Division in World War II.