Mississippi State University

Table of Contents

  1. 360 Panoramas

  2. Construction and Road Closures

    1. DETOUR - Hardy Road/Herbert Street
    2. Herbert Street/Hardy Road Detour
    3. Library Expansion Road and Area Closure
    4. Parking and Building Closure
    5. Road Closure through 2016
    6. Road and Sidewalk Closure
  3. Meridian Campus

    1. College Park Campus
    2. Deen Building
    3. Riley Center and Meridian Downtown Campus
  4. Academic and Administrative

    1. "Old Main" Academic Center
    2. Academic Advising Center
    3. Academic Computer Laboratory
    4. Allen Hall
    5. Ammerman-Hearnsberger Pilot Food Processing Lab
    6. Ballew Hall
    7. Band/Choral Rehearsal Hall
    8. Bedenbaugh Animal Science
    9. Bost Extension Center
    10. Bowen Hall
    11. Box Building
    12. Briscoe Hall
    13. Butler Hall
    14. Campus Power Plant
    15. Carpenter Hall
    16. Center for Advanced Vehicular Systems
    17. Center for America's Veterans
    18. Center for Educational Partnerships
    19. Cobb Institute of Archaeology
    20. Colvard Student Union
    21. Cullis Wade Depot
    22. Dorman Hall
    23. Early Childhood Institute
    24. Environmental Health and Safety / Office of Institutional Effectiveness
    25. Etheredge Hall
    26. Freeman Hall
    27. Garner Hall
    28. Gast Building
    29. George Hall
    30. Giles Hall
    31. Griffis Hall
    32. Hand Chemical Lab
    33. Harned Hall
    34. Herbert Hall
    35. Herzer Dairy Science Building
    36. Hilbun Hall
    37. Hill Poultry Science Building
    38. Howell Building
    39. ITS
    40. Industrial Education Building
    41. Internal Audit
    42. J. Charles Lee Agricultural and Biological Engineering Building
    43. Landscape Architecture Facility
    44. Lee Hall
    45. Lloyd-Ricks-Watson Building
    46. Longest Student Health Center
    47. MSU Psychology Clinic
    48. Magruder Hall
    49. McArthur Hall
    50. McCain Engineering Building
    51. McCarty Building
    52. McComas Hall
    53. McCool Hall
    54. Memorial Hall
    55. Middleton Hall (ROTC Building)
    56. Mississippi Quarterly
    57. Montgomery Hall
    58. Moore Hall
    59. Music Building A
    60. Music Building B
    61. Office of Maroon and Write
    62. Patterson Engineering Building
    63. Regulatory Compliance and Safety
    64. Research and Curriculum Unit (RCU)
    65. Roberts Building
    66. Simrall Electrical Engineering Building
    67. Stafford Hall
    68. Stennis Institute of Government and Community Development
    69. Student Media Center
    70. Swalm Chemical Engineering Building
    71. Templeton Athletic Academic Center
    72. The Child Development and Family Studies Center
    73. The Writing Center
    74. Thompson Hall
    75. Transportation Services
    76. Walker Engineering Building
    77. Williams Building
    78. Wise Center
    79. YMCA Building
  5. Athletics and Recreational Sports

    1. A.J. Pitts Tennis Centre
    2. Bryan Athletic Administration Building
    3. Davis Wade Stadium
    4. Dudy Noble Field - Polk-DeMent Stadium
    5. Holliman Athletic Center
    6. Humphrey Coliseum
    7. Joe Frank Sanderson Center
    8. Leo Seal Jr. Football Complex
    9. MSU Golf Course
    10. McCarthy Gymnasium
    11. Mize Pavilion
    12. Newell-Grissom Building
    13. Nusz Park
    14. Palmeiro Center
    15. Recreational Complex
    16. Shira Field House
    17. Soccer Field
    18. Spencer Stadium and Carl Maddox Track
    19. Templeton Athletic Academic Center
    20. Turman Field House and M Club
  6. Residence Halls

    1. Collegiate Recovery Community House
    2. Cresswell Hall
    3. Critz Hall
    4. Deavenport Hall
    5. Dogwood Hall
    6. Griffis Hall
    7. Hathorn Hall
    8. Herbert Hall
    9. Hull Hall
    10. Hurst Hall
    11. Magnolia Hall
    12. McKee Hall
    13. Moseley Hall
    14. Nunnelee Hall
    15. Oak Hall
    16. Rice Hall
    17. Ruby Hall
    18. Sessums Hall
  7. Food and Dining

    1. Barnes & Noble Cafe
    2. Burger King
    3. Burrito Bowl
    4. Chick-Fil-A
    5. Einstein Bros. Bagels
    6. Fresh Food
    7. Juva Juice
    8. McArthur Café Express
    9. McArthur Café Express
    10. McArthur Café Express
    11. Moe's Southwest Grill
    12. P.O.D.
    13. Panda Express
    14. Pegasus Dining
    15. Perry Cafeteria
    16. Pizza Hut Express
    17. Provisions On Demand
    18. Starbucks
    19. State Fountain Bakery
    20. Subway
    21. Templeton Dining Hall
    22. Village Pizza
  8. Libraries

    1. Architecture Library
    2. Mitchell Memorial Library
    3. Vet School Library
  9. Greek Life

    1. Alpha Delta Pi
    2. Chi Omega
    3. Delta Chi
    4. Delta Delta Delta
    5. Delta Gamma
    6. Farmhouse
    7. Kappa Alpha
    8. Kappa Delta Sorority
    9. Kappa Sigma
    10. Lambda Chi Alpha
    11. Phi Delta Theta
    12. Phi Gamma Delta
    13. Phi Kappa Tau
    14. Phi Mu
    15. Pi Beta Phi
    16. Pi Kappa Alpha
    17. Pi Kappa Phi
    18. Sigma Alpha Epsilon
    19. Sigma Chi
    20. Zeta Tau Alpha
  10. Art & Performance Venues

    1. Amphitheater
    2. Band Practice Field
    3. Band/Choral Rehearsal Hall
    4. Briscoe Hall
    5. Freeman Hall
    6. McComas Hall
    7. Stafford Hall
    8. Student Media Center
    9. Visual Arts Center (VAC)
    10. Visual Arts Center 2 (VAC)
  11. Monuments and Memorials

    1. G.V. "Sonny" Montgomery Statue
    2. "A of Mississippi" Monument
    3. 4-H Club Flagpole
    4. Angel Statue
    5. Bell Island
    6. Bulldog Sculpture
    7. Bulldog Sculpture
    8. Bulldog Statue
    9. Bully Sculpture
    10. Cast Iron Fountain
    11. Darden Monument
    12. Historic Campus Entry Gate
    13. Lee Bust and Plaza
    14. Metal Benches & Stands (The Hitchhiker Stand)
    15. Michel John Petro Sculpture
    16. Sculpture
    17. The Bull Ring
    18. The Eternal Flame
    19. The Scholar
    20. Trousse Blanc
    21. Vietnam Memorial
    22. WWI Memorial
    23. Walk of Honor
    24. Wiley Carter Memorial
  12. Research Centers

    1. A.B. McKay Food Research & Enology Lab
    2. Center for Educational Partnerships
    3. Center for Historical Studies
    4. Clay Lyle Entomology Lab
    5. Cobb Institute of Archaeology
    6. Edwards Building
    7. Forest Products Laboratory
    8. Franklin Center for Furniture Manufacturing and Management
    9. H.H. Leveck Animal Research Center (South Farm)
    10. High Performance Computing Collaboratory (HPC2)
    11. Institute For Clean Energy Technology
    12. Institute for the Humanities
    13. John C. Stennis Institute (Annex)
    14. MSU Business Incubator
    15. Mississippi Seed Association
    16. Multi-Tennant Building
    17. Pace Seed Technology Building
    18. Petroleum Products Lab
    19. R.R. Foil Plant Science Research Center (North Farm)
    20. RTC Building
    21. Scales Building
    22. T.K. Martin Center
    23. University Greenhouse Complex
  13. Points of Interest

    1. Butler Guest House
    2. Center For America's Veterans
    3. Chapel of Memories
    4. Cotton Mill Convention Center / E. E. Cooley Building
    5. Drill Field
    6. Eckie's Pond
    7. Howell Observatory
    8. Hunter Henry Center
    9. Lee Hall
    10. MAFES Sales Store
    11. Mississippi Horse Park
    12. President's House
    13. Steam Plant
    14. The Junction
    15. The University Florist
    16. Veterans Memorial Rose Garden
  14. S.M.A.R.T. Transit

    1. Giles S.M.A.R.T Stop
    2. S.M.A.R.T University Drive/Old West Point Rd Stop
    3. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop
    4. S.M.A.R.T. Allen Hall Stop
    5. S.M.A.R.T. Brickfire Project Stop
    6. S.M.A.R.T. First Presbyterian Stop
    7. S.M.A.R.T. Fraternity Row
    8. S.M.A.R.T. Greensboro Stop
    9. S.M.A.R.T. Hardy Rd
    10. S.M.A.R.T. Humphrey Coliseum
    11. S.M.A.R.T. OCH Regional Medical Center Stop
    12. S.M.A.R.T. Oak and Magnolia
    13. S.M.A.R.T. Patriot Park Stop
    14. S.M.A.R.T. Roberts Building
    15. S.M.A.R.T. Scales Lot
    16. S.M.A.R.T. Sorority Row #1
    17. S.M.A.R.T. Sorority Row #2
    18. S.M.A.R.T. Sportsplex Stop
    19. S.M.A.R.T. Stop
    20. S.M.A.R.T. Stop
    21. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Downtown Stop
    22. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Montgomery
    23. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop
    24. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop
    25. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop
    26. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop
    27. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop
    28. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop
    29. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop
    30. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop
    31. S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop
    32. S.M.A.R.T. University Drive East
    33. S.M.A.R.T. University Drive West
    34. S.M.A.R.T. Welcome Center
    35. S.M.A.R.T. Wise Center
    36. S.M.A.R.T. Zacharias Village
    37. S.M.A.RT. Transit Stop
    38. Spruhill Townhouses Stop
  15. Student Services

    1. ITS Help Desk and Campus Card Office
    1. Lactation rooms

      1. Lactation room
      2. Lactation room
      3. Lactation room
      4. Lactation room
      5. Lactation room
      6. Lactation room
      7. Lactation room
      8. Lactation room
  16. Museums and Galleries

    1. Colvard Student Union Art Gallery
    2. Cullis Wade Clock Museum
    3. Cullis Wade Depot Art Gallery
    4. Cully Cobb Museum
    5. Department of Art Gallery
    6. Dunn-Seiler Museum
    7. Giles Architecture Gallery
    8. Historic Costumes and Textile Collection
    9. Lois Dowdle Cobb Museum of Archaeology
    10. Mississippi Entomological Museum
    11. Mississippi State University Herbarium
    12. Mitchell Memorial Library
    13. Visual Arts Center (VAC)
    14. Visual Arts Center 2 (VAC)

Tours

Landmark Building Tour

  1. Lee Hall
  2. McCain Engineering Building
  3. Carpenter Hall
  4. Bowen Hall
  5. Steam Plant
  6. Herbert Hall
  7. Industrial Education and Seed Laboratory
  8. Stennis Institute
  9. Montgomery Hall
  10. Perry Cafeteria
  11. Lloyd-Ricks-Watson Building
  12. Hull Hall
  13. YMCA Building
  14. George Hall
  15. Magruder Hall
  16. Harned Hall
  17. Middleton ROTC Building

Central Campus Walking Tour

  1. Welcome Center & Cullis Wade Depot
  2. The Junction
  3. The Union
  4. The Marketplace at Perry Cafeteria
  5. Montgomery Hall
  6. McCool Hall
  7. The Drill Field
  8. Mitchell Memorial Library
  9. Engineering Row
  10. Lee Hall
  11. The Chapel of Memories

Campus Tree Trail

  1. Live Oak
  2. Leland Cypress
  3. American Sycamore (Moon Tree)
  4. Southern Magnolia
  5. Green Ash
  6. Bald cypress
  7. Willow Oak
  8. Ginkgo
  9. Southern Pecan
  10. Yellow Poplar
  11. Sweetbay magnolia
  12. Common fig
  13. Saucer magnolia
  14. Japanese maple
  15. Ginkgo (Melting tree)
  16. Slash pine
  17. Nuttall Oak
  18. Water oak
  19. Red maple
  20. Post Oak

Content

Construction and Road Closures

DETOUR - Hardy Road/Herbert Street

Automobile traffic for Hardy Road and Herbert Street routed through 2016 due to library construction

Herbert Street/Hardy Road Detour

Detour through 2016 due to library construction

Library Expansion Road and Area Closure

Road and area closed through December 2016 due to expansion of Mitchell Memorial Library. Traffic redirected through Herbert Street.

Parking and Building Closure

Area closed for demolition of Aiken Village housing area.

Road Closure through 2016

Herbert Street segment closed to traffic through December 2016.

Road and Sidewalk Closure

Road and sidewalk closure through 2015 for construction of new classroom building and parking garage facility

Back to Table of Contents

Meridian Campus

College Park Campus

The College Park Campus, located on Highway 19 N. near the western edge of the city of Meridian and across the street from Meridian Community College, is home to the Division of Arts and Sciences and the Division of Education. Completed in 1993, the facility also houses Administrative offices for the campus.

Deen Building

Opened in January, 2012, the Deen Building was donated to Mississippi State University and renovated by The Riley Foundation and houses the University's Division of Business. Offices of the Division Head for the Division of Business are located within the facility, as are a number of state-of-the-art classrooms. The Deen building also holds a spacious computer lab and a pair of professional, fully equipped conference rooms. Both large and small study spaces are available for students, permitting either individual or small group study sessions. A fascinating feature of the Deen building is the electronic stock ticker located in the first floor lobby. A generous gift by Bank Plus allowed for the purchase and installation of the ticker.

Riley Center and Meridian Downtown Campus

The MSU-Riley Center includes the Grand Opera House (a performing arts center), a conference center, and several exhibit halls. The Center is a special place for social interaction, to enjoy the arts, engage in lifelong learning, and stimulate community growth and development. The multifaceted center attracts 60,000+ visitors to downtown Meridian annually for conferences, meetings, and performances.

Back to Table of Contents

Academic and Administrative

"Old Main" Academic Center

Academic Advising Center

Academic Computer Laboratory

Academic Computer Laboratory

 

The Academic Computer Laboratory, also known as Building 28, or the Old Band Hall, is open for use by students, faculty and staff. The lab offers 51 Windows 7 workstations and 2 Macintosh OS X workstations, as well as printers.

 

179 Herbert St.

GEO: 33.453750; -88.786820

Allen Hall

175 Presidents Cir.

GEO: 33.452260-88.790750

 

Allen Hall is currently home of the offices of the VP of Student Affairs, the Dean of Students, the Graduate School, as well as the College of Education and College of Arts and Sciences. Allen Hall also includes many academic classrooms. Allen Hall also serves as the home of the Office of the CIO and Information Technology Services.

.

Ammerman-Hearnsberger Pilot Food Processing Lab

Ammerman-Hearnsberger Pilot Food Processing Lab

 

Ammerman-Hearnsberger Pilot Food Processing Lab is part of the Food Science and Human Nutrition Department. The building is named in honor of Gale R. Ammerman, first head of the food science department, and Dr. James Hearnsberger, a productive and dedicated faculty member who died at an untimely young age. The facility is used by industry to produce lots for market testing, by the Food Science Club to process, package and market their Bully Boxes, and by professors to conduct research and teaching.

 

Food Science, Nutrition and Health Promotion – http://www.fsnhp.msstate.edu

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu


Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station – http://www.mafes.msstate.edu

 

 

885-1 Stone Blvd.

GEO: 33.453220; -88.796760

Ballew Hall

Ballew Hall

The Meats Laboratory produces some of the finest beef and pork products around, and offers them for sale to the public via the MAFES Sales Store. The lab is operated for teaching and research of meats in the animal and dairy science and the food science, nutrition and health promotion departments. Products include ribeye steaks, ground chuck, sirloin roasts and many other cuts.

 

MAFES Sales Store - http://msucheese.com

Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station – http://www.mafes.msstate.edu

 

 

 

885 Stone Blvd.

GEO: 33.453040; -88.795850

Band/Choral Rehearsal Hall

Band/Choral Rehearsal Hall

 

Newly constructed in the fall of 2007, the Band Hall is home of the "Famous Maroon Band," named by a sports writer in the early 1930's, as well as the Choral Rehearsal Hall. The 18,000 square foot facility includes practice areas, storage, and two music libraries.

 

72 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.448040; -88.789140

Bedenbaugh Animal Science

Bedenbaugh Animal Science Lab

 

The Bedenbaugh Animal Science Lab is a part of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and is used by students in animal and dairy sciences programs.

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences - http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

 

915 Stone Blvd.

GEO: 33.453670; -88.796010

Bost Extension Center

Bost Extension Center

 

Bost Extension Center is home to the Office of Agricultural Communications, the Vice President for Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine, the Center for Governmental Training and Technology, the Southern Rural Development Center, the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station administration, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences administration and headquarters for the Mississippi State University Extension Service.

 

MSU Extension Service

 

Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine – http://www.dafvm.msstate.edu


Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station – http://www.mafes.msstate.edu


College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

190 Bost

GEO: 33.457640-88.795960

 

Bowen Hall

Bowen Hall

 

Bowen Hall, constructed in 1929 in the Romanesque Revival style is named for James V. Bowen, father of the business curriculum at Mississippi State. Bowen, who had only one eye, was known to the students as "Bad Eye." Bowen Hall houses the Department of Political Science and the Department of Sociology and Social Work.

 

456 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.453260; -88.787230

Box Building

299-1 Morrill Rd.

GEO: 33.450730-88.786900

 

Briscoe Hall

Briscoe Hall

 

Briscoe Hall houses faculty offices for the College of Architecture, Art and Design, in addition to drawing studios, ceramic studios, printmaking, traditional photography labs, and a new digital photo computer lab.

 

120 Garner Cir.

GEO: 33.457840; -88.791970

Butler Hall

Butler Hall

 

Butler Hall is home to the Department of Computer Science and Engineering. Research efforts concentrate on the areas of artificial intelligence, computer security and forensics, high performance computing, software engineering, and visualization and computer graphics.

 

Computer Science Engineering

National Forensics Training Center

 

665 George Perry St.

GEO: 33.457830-88.790290

 

Campus Power Plant

Carpenter Hall

Carpenter Hall

 

Built in 1910, this Beaux Arts styled building is named for Randle Churchill Carpenter (class of 1895), the first graduate of the engineering school and head of the mechanical engineering department 1918-1938. Carpenter Hall houses mechanical engineering.

 

479-1 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.453640-88.788530

 

Center for Advanced Vehicular Systems

Center for Advanced Vehicular Systems (CAVS)

 

CAVS is an interdisciplinary center comprised of research, engineering design and development, as well as technology transfer teams for industry and government partners. CAVS is focused on developing superior computational, engineering, manufacturing, design, and information technologies relevant to Mississippi and regional industries. This is accomplished by bringing to bear world-class technologists and technologies to solve complex problems.

Center for America's Veterans

G.V. "Sonny" Montgomery Center for America's Veterans

 

The G.V. "Sonny" Montgomery Center for America's Veterans was established in 2006. This important Center supports the mission of the Division of Student Affairs through the development and implementation of outreach programs designed to provide student support services focused on the special needs and requirements of today's military veterans, service members, dependents and survivors.

 

250 Bailey Howell Dr.
GEO: 33.459805; -88.790753

Center for Educational Partnerships

Center for Educational Partnerships

 

The Center for Educational Partnerships was established by the College of Education in 1996. Its mission is to provide educational extension services to the public schools of Mississippi. Services include, but are not limited to, curriculum development, technical consultation, and educational research. The center serves as the College of Education liaison to the State Department of Education, regional consortia, foundations, and other agencies or institutions that support the work of public schools in Mississippi.

Cobb Institute of Archaeology

Cobb Institute of Archaeology

 

The Cobb Institute of Archaeology at Mississippi State University was founded in June 1971 through gifts provided by Cully and Lois Cobb and houses the Department of Anthropology and Middle Eastern Cultures. The Institute sponsors archaeological field work, research and instruction in the archaeology of the Middle East and southern United States. The Institute is a specially designed archaeological facility donated by the Cobb family. They also provided a permanent endowment for support of the Institute’s activities. The Cobb Institute is part of the College of Arts and Sciences.

 

340 Lee Blvd.

GEO: 33.454890-88.787530


 

Colvard Student Union

Colvard Student Union

 

The Colvard Student Union is both a facility and a department which offers a variety of student programs. The Union, which originally opened in 1964, later underwent a major 17-month renovation and expansion. The project began in August 2006 and was completed in late December 2007, re-opening in January 2008. A state-of-the art facility, the Colvard Student Union serves as the center of university community life. The Event Services office books the Amphitheater, Bettersworth Auditorium, and all the rooms in the Union in addition to most other spaces on campus. Enjoy the many dining options available on the first floor or sit back and relax in one of the many quiet study spaces throughout the building.

Cullis Wade Depot

Cullis Wade Depot

 

The Cullis Wade Depot houses the university’s Welcome Center, the Depot Art Gallery and Barnes & Noble at Mississippi State Bookstore. Guests begin their official visit to campus at the Welcome Center, which also includes a clock museum and small theater where visitors can watch university videos. The Depot Gallery is a revolving exhibit by national and local artists. Barnes & Noble has its usual inventory of books and magazines, all the Mississippi State paraphernalia, and Starbucks coffee house. The second floor is dedicated to textbooks and school supplies. It is the flagship campus bookstore for Barnes & Noble.

 

75 B.S. Hood Dr.

GEO: 33.456580-88.795500

 

Dorman Hall

Dorman Hall


Dorman Hall was formerly the location of Dudy Noble Field. In 1964, the baseball field was closed to make way for the construction of the building. Dorman Hall houses the Department of Plant and Soil Sciences and the Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology and Plant Pathology. Approximately 200 faculty members and graduate and post-doctoral students have offices in Dorman Hall. In addition, Dorman classrooms accommodate approximately 1,000 students daily. Greenhouse space occupying over 11,000 square feet is located behind Dorman Hall with a 6,000 square-foot building housed with office, workshop and classroom space. Landscaping around Dorman Hall is used for scientific study and public display. The gardens include fern glen, vines and daylily collections, butterfly garden, prairie garden, rain garden, evergreen collection, xerophytic garden, hydrangea collection and shade garden.

 

Plant and Soil Sciences – http://www.pss.msstate.edu

 

Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology and Plant Pathology – http://www.biochemistry.msstate.edu

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu


 

 

32 Creelman St.

GEO: 33.453970-88.794010

 

Early Childhood Institute

Early Childhood Institute

 

The Early Childhood Institute is a unit of the College of Education. The Institute was established in 1999 to provide training, technical assistance and applied research for improved quality and accessibility of early care and education across Mississippi. The Institute serves communities statewide through programs which focus on improving quality of early childhood education, providing professional development for early childhood professionals, and engaging the community in supporting young children.

Environmental Health and Safety / Office of Institutional Effectiveness

Etheredge Hall

Etheredge Hall

 

Etheredge Hall houses the Interior Design Program as well as various other MSU departments.

 

449 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.453550-88.788020

 

Freeman Hall

Freeman Hall

 

Freeman Hall houses the Department of Art, painting and drawing studios, a digital photo computer lab, student studio spaces and faculty offices.

 

415 Barr Ave.

GEO: 33.457430; -88.791830

Garner Hall

Garner Hall

 

Garner Hall is home to the Registrar's Office and Student Financial Aid.

 

88 Garner Cir.

GEO: 33.458170-88.791340

 

Gast Building

Gast Building

 

The Gast building houses the facilities management department, the university's physical plant. Formerly it housed the Boll Weevil Lab.

 

130 Old Hwy. 12

GEO: 33.452880; -88.801070

George Hall

George Hall. 1902. Colonial Revival. 

 

Built in 1902 in the Colonial Revival style, George Hall originally served as the campus infirmary. The James Z. George Memorial Hospital was considered one of the best facilities of its kind in the South. George, who as a United States senator became known as "The Great Commoner," was extremely instrumental in securing appropriations for the construction. In 1918, a Spanish flu epidemic took its toll on the campus of Mississippi State, and several students succumbed. Because of this, a temporary embalming operation was set up in the basement of the infirmary. The James Z. George Memorial Hospital served as the university's medical facility until 1965. Today, George Hall is home to the Office of Public Affairs.

 

Office of Public Affairs

 

233 Lee Blvd.

GEO: 33.455620-88.789320

 

Giles Hall

Giles Hall

 

Home of the College of Architecture, Art and Design, Giles Hall houses the state's only School of Architecture. The architecture program is a five-year curriculum; four years are spent at the Starkville campus, and the fifth year is taught in Jackson. Giles Hall is named after MSU's 13th president.

 

 

889 Collegeview St.

GEO: 33.458300-88.793430

 

Griffis Hall

Griffis Hall

 

Griffis Hall houses the Shackouls Honors College and serves as an honors residence hall. It features double rooms with private baths. It also has a dining location, Village Pizza, as well as classroom space and a computer lab for honors classes.

 

500 Coliseum Blvd.

GEO: 33.458880; -88.786720

Hand Chemical Lab

Hand Chemical Lab

 

The Hand Chemical Lab is home of the chemistry department and the state chemical laboratories.

 

 

310 Presidents Cir.

GEO: 33.452010-88.789020

 

Harned Hall

Harned Hall. 1921. Late Gothic.

 

Harned Hall was built in 1921 in the Late Gothic style and was originally known as the biology building. It was eventually named for H.H. Harned, long-time head of the microbiology department. The library was moved from Montgomery Hall to Harned Hall in 1921 and remained there until Mitchell Memorial Library was built in 1952. Harned now houses the Department of Biological Sciences.

 

295 Lee Blvd.

GEO: 33.455720-88.788050


Herbert Hall

Herbert Hall

 

Herbert Hall was built in 1929 in the Romanesque Revival style and was named for John C. Herbert, early professor of humanities and government. Herbert Hall is now home of the Department of Housing and Residence Life and also serves as a residence hall.

 

170 Herbert St.

GEO: 33.453320; -88.786310

 

 

Herzer Dairy Science Building

Herzer Dairy Science Building

A unit of the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station, the MAFES Sales Store is an outlet for the research and educational products produced by MAFES Research Support Unit Dairy Manufacturing Plant and by the Department of Food Science, Nutrition and Health Promotion. Each year, 90,000 pounds of cheddar cheese; 15,000 pounds of jalapeno cheese; 5,000 gallons of ice cream; and 48,000 balls of Edam cheese are sold. The MAFES Sales Store is open 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. each week day and on Saturdays before home football games. It is closed during most university-scheduled holidays.

 

Food Science, Nutrition and Health Promotion – http://www.fsnhp.msstate.edu

 

MAFES Sales Store – http://msucheese.com

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

 

 

945 Stone Blvd.

GEO: 33.454028-88.795613

 

Hilbun Hall

Hilbun Hall:

 

Hilbun Hall houses geosciences, physics and astronomy. MSU has the largest broadcast meteorology program in the nation, and it is one of the strongest, as evidenced by a team of students and faculty who have won the National Weather Forecasting competition on multiple occasions.

 

355 Lee Blvd.

GEO: 33.455690-88.787070

 

Hill Poultry Science Building

Hill Poultry Science Building

 

The Hill Poultry Science Building is the only building on the Mississippi State University campus that was built with funds provided by the National Science Foundation (NSF). The building was built and occupied in 1967. It is the primary site of all educational and research programs of the Poultry Science Department of Mississippi State University. The Hill Poultry Science Building also houses the Mississippi Poultry Hall of Fame.



Poultry Science – http://www.poultry.msstate.edu

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

 

46 Old Bully

GEO: 33.454490; -88.797360

Howell Building

 

823 Collegeview St.

GEO: 33.459490; -88.793790

ITS

Industrial Education Building

Industrial Education Building

 

The Industrial Education and Seed Laboratory was built in 1900 in the Italianate style. It started out as the Textile Building, home of the short-lived textile school. By 1914, with virtually no enrollment, the textile school dismantled its machinery and was out of business. This building is easily recognized because of its distinctive twin towers and triple arches. Throughout its history, this building has been home to agricultural engineering, the building and grounds department, and most recently, to the technology and education program. The National Register of Historic Places added the Industrial Education Building to its list in 1975.

 

108 Herbert St.

GEO: 33.452520; -88.786660

Internal Audit

J. Charles Lee Agricultural and Biological Engineering Building

130 Creelman

GEO: 33.453160-88.793050

 

The Agricultural and Biological Engineering Building opened during the Spring of 2008. This department provides students with opportunities to pursue careers in the fields of agricultural engineering technology and business, agriculture and natural resources, biomedical engineering, medicine and environmental engineering.

 

Agricultural and Biology Engineering - http://www.abe.msstate.edu/

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences - http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

Landscape Architecture Facility

Landscape Architecture Facility

 

The Landscape Architecture Facility features regenerative technologies which are designed to use less energy and produce better air quality. That's because the facility that opened in December 2002 was planned from the ground up—literally—with a focused eye toward conservation. The facility, which includes three buildings in an L-shape, uses 50 percent less power than traditional buildings on campus. A state-of-the-art photovoltaic (PV) solar power production facility is located just north of the two-story Design Studio. The PV array is 80 ft. (24 m) long and 12 ft. (3.7 m) wide.

 

 

Landscape Architecture – http://www.lalc.msstate.edu

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

 

845-3 Stone Blvd.

GEO: 33.452480; -88.796670

Lee Hall

Lee Hall. 1909. Beaux Arts.Lee Hall, built in 1909 in the Beaux Arts style, was named for Stephen Dill Lee, the first president of the university. Lee Hall was built as an academic building and chapel. In the early years, it served as the main administration building and has since been home to the Office of the President, English and Foreign Language departments, and the Student Counseling Center. In October of 1948 a fire broke out on the roof where construction workers had been working with tar. The fire destroyed the fourth floor and most of the third floor. Damages were estimated at $1 million. Repair work began almost immediately after the fire, and Lee Hall was restored to its old form. Lee Hall is also home to the Bettersworth Auditorium which regularly hosts international performers as part of the Lyceum Series.

Lloyd-Ricks-Watson Building

Lloyd-Ricks-Watson

 

The Lloyd-Ricks-Watson building was constructed in 1929 in the Jacobethan Revival style and built to house the Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service. This building was first called the Experiment Station Building. It was joined a decade later by a "twin" building for the extension service. With a small connector linking old and new sections, it was renamed for former directors E.R. Lloyd, J.R. Ricks and Vance Watson. The building houses the Department of Agricultural Economics and the School of Human Sciences.

 

Agricultural Economics – http://www.agecon.msstate.edu

 

School of Human Sciences – http://www.humansci.msstate.edu

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

255 Tracy Dr.

GEO: 33.454780-88.792370

 

Longest Student Health Center

Longest Student Health Center

 

The only accredited student health center in the state. The Health Center is staffed by 5 doctors, 3 nurse practitioners, 12 nurses, with a Physical Therapy unit, and an in-house pharmacy offering students prescriptions at reduced rates. Adjacent to the Health Center is the T.K. Martin Center which works with individuals with disabilities. They have recently developed a new sports wheelchair. The Health Center recently completed renovations which added new waiting rooms, patient areas, and pharmacy space.

 

360 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.451770; -88.788050

MSU Psychology Clinic

Magruder Hall

Magruder Hall. 1938. Georgian Revival. Magruder Hall was built in 1938 in the Georgian Revival fashion. It was named for W.H. Magruder, the head of the English department from 1883 to 1908. The Department of Psychology is currently housed in Magruder Hall.

 

255 Lee Blvd.

GEO: 33.455690-88.788840

 

McArthur Hall

McArthur Hall

 

McArthur Hall houses Accounts Payable and Travel, the Controller and Treasurer, the Office of Diversity and Equity Programs, Human Resources Management, the Office of Internal Audit, Payroll and Procurement and Contracts.

 

245 Barr Ave.

GEO: 33.458530-88.794340

 

McCain Engineering Building

McCain Engineering


Richard H. Hunt was the architect responsible for the Beaux Arts design of the McCain Engineering Building, constructed in 1905. Known for many years as the Engineering Building, it was eventually named for Professor Dewey M. McCain, longtime head of the civil engineering department. Renovated in 2003, it currently houses the Dean of the Bagley College of Engineering and the Industrial Engineering Department.

479-2 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.454350-88.788230

 

McCarty Building

McCarty Building

 

The McCarty Building houses the Mississippi Department of Agriculture, Division of Plant Industries

 

705 Stone Blvd.

GEO: 33.450460; -88.796440

McComas Hall

McComas Hall is home of the communication department, with majors including public relations, broadcast journalism, and theater. The building also has a 550-seat theater, designed to look like a baby grand piano.

 

216 Presidents Cir.

GEO: 33.450680; -88.790590

McCool Hall

McCool Hall

 

Built with a gift from Mr. & Mrs. E.B. McCool, the founder of Holiday Inn, McCool Hall is home to the College of Business, the Adkerson School of Accountancy, the only International Business program in the State of Mississippi, and the PGA Golf Management Program, which is one of only nine in the nation certified by the PGA. McCool underwent a major renovation and expansion project in 2007 with the addition of the Leo W. Seal Family Business Complex, providing more classrooms and office space for students and faculty.

 

40 Old Main

GEO: 33.453860-88.790490

 

Memorial Hall

Memorial Hall

 

Memorial Hall houses the Center for Distance Education and the English Language Institute (ELI).

 

365 Barr Ave.

GEO: 33.457930; -88.792660

Middleton Hall (ROTC Building)

Middleton Hall

 

Middleton Hall, also known as the ROTC Building, was built in 1910 in the Colonial Revival style. From 1910 until 1940, the ROTC Building was the home of the Dairy Department. After the Dairy Department moved out, the building became known as the Student Activities Building until 1951, when the Military Science Department moved into the building. They shared the building with the Famous Maroon Band until 1954, when the Band moved to its present location. The Military Science Department (Army ROTC) continues to occupy the building today, along with the Aerospace Studies Department (Air Force ROTC). In 1986, the building was named after General Troy H. Middleton, commander of the 45th Infantry Division in World War II.

 

560 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.454720; -88.786720

Mississippi Quarterly

Montgomery Hall

Montgomery Hall

Architect Richard H. Hunt designed Montgomery Hall in the Beaux Art style. Built in 1902, Montgomery Hall was originally known as the Scientific Hall because it housed all the science classes, but it also accommodated the university's library for a short time. As volumes in the library increased, space in the second and third floor, to which the library was consigned, remained limited. The library was moved in 1921 to newly built Harned Hall. The Scientific Hall was renovated in 1939 and renamed for Col. W.B. Montgomery, great-grandfather of Rep. Sonny Montgomery (D-Miss.). It is now home to Student Support Services, Admissions and Scholarships and the Career Center.

25 Old Main

GEO: 33.453910-88.791350

 

Moore Hall

Moore Hall

 

In Moore Hall you will find the School of Human Sciences historic costume lab where you can get lost in time. Students in Fashion Design and Merchandising spend many hours in classrooms and laboratories located in this building. Moore Hall is also home to components of the nutrition teaching program. The building is equipped with four complete kitchens for students to learn and prepare meals.

 

School of Human Sciences – http://www.humansci.msstate.edu

 

Food Science, Nutrition and Health Promotion – http://www.fsnhp.msstate.edu

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

 

60 Garner Cir.

GEO: 33.457740; -88.790810

Music Building A

Music Building A

 

The Department of Music offers two degrees in music: the B.A. and the B.M.E. This section of our website contains information about those programs and the academic areas of the Department of Music.

 

299-3 Morrill Rd.

GEO: 33.450330; -88.787200

Music Building B

Music Building B

 

299-10 Morrill Rd.

GEO: 33.450940; -88.787790

Office of Maroon and Write

Patterson Engineering Building

Patterson Engineering Lab

 

Patterson Engineering Lab houses Aerospace Engineering labs, where we have a wind tunnel to do research for NASA.

 

516 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.454180-88.787100

 

Regulatory Compliance and Safety

Research and Curriculum Unit (RCU)

The RCU offers many unique services for the state of Mississippi and beyond including nationally recognized curriculum development, research and assessment, online training and professional development

 

Research and Curriculum Unit Website

Phone:662-325-3296

 

103 Russell St, Starkville, MS 39759

 

33.4618301,-88.808226,

Roberts Building

Roberts Building

The Roberts building houses Parking Services, the MSU Post Office, and Burger King.

 

412 Lee Blvd.

GEO: 33.455000-88.786110

 

Simrall Electrical Engineering Building

Simrall Electrical Engineering Building

 

Home to Electrical and Computer Engineering, Simrall has the largest high voltage laboratory in North America and is able to reproduce lightning. Harry Simrall was a former Dean of Engineering.

 

406 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.452720-88.787570

 

Stafford Hall

Stafford Hall

 

Stafford Hall houses the Design studios, Graphic Design studio, Interactive Media Lab, 2 Graphis Design Computer labs, Photography Studio, Foundation Studio and Faculty Offices.

 

475 Barr Ave.

GEO: 33.457340; -88.791060

Stennis Institute of Government and Community Development

From the first, Mississippi A&M was linked to the larger world via a Mobile & Ohio Railroad branch line connecting the mail line in Lowndes County. In 1928, the permanent M&O structure, built in the Commercial style, replaced a nearby open-air platform. After the branch line closed in the 1960s, the building eventually was converted to house the John  C. Stennis Institute of Government, a memorial to the distinguished alumnus and longtime United States senator.

Student Media Center

Student Media Center

 

The Student Media Center houses The Reflector (campus newspaper), Sexual Assault Services and WMSV Radio Station.

 

105 Lee Blvd.

GEO: 33.455140-88.791360

 

Swalm Chemical Engineering Building

Swalm Chemical Engineering

 

The Swalm Chemical Engineering building was completed in 2001 and is the newest addition to the Drill Field. Classrooms, labs and office space for the Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering are all contained here. Swalm mirrors Lee Hall, as they sit opposite each other on the Drill Field.

 

323 Presidents Cir.

GEO: 33.452690-88.789810

 

Templeton Athletic Academic Center

Templeton Athletic Academic Center

 

Opened in November 2008, this 34,000 square foot addition to the University is the home to the Office of Athletic Academics. The TAAC helps the student-athletes practice effective time management due to its close location to the weight room, training room, practice facilities, Coaches’ Offices, and Residence Halls. This facility features 34 tutor rooms, 8 private study rooms, 1 large study area with 20 tables and 100 chairs, 4 computer labs, and a large conference room. This facility has the 2nd largest computer lab on the MSU Campus. The Templeton Center also has RFoC (Real Food on Campus - an extension of Marketplace at Perry that serves lunch and dinner, Monday through Friday to the campus community). The RFoC is open for anyone to eat.

 

GEO: 33.464050; -88.792510

The Child Development and Family Studies Center

The Child Development and Family Studies Center is housed in a 9,000 sq. ft. building that serves children ages six weeks to five years. The Child Development and Family Studies Center is an experiential child study laboratory sponsored by the School of Human Sciences at Mississippi State University for students majoring in Human Development and Family Studies. Lab students and interns complete required weekly experiences at the Center under the supervision of university staff and faculty. Students have over 100 hours of supervised laboratory experiences and may complete 480 hours in an internship onsite. The Center also works cooperatively with students and faculty from other departments and colleges on campus.

 

School of Human Sciences - http://www.humansci.msstate.edu/cdfsc/index.asp


College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

The Writing Center

The Writing Center

 

The Writing Center has recently moved to its new home in the renovated home located on President's Circle directly across the street from Allen Hall. The new facility features a comfortable, well-equipped work room, computers, and the same quality instruction and assistance. The Writing Center dedicates itself to helping all MSU students to develop as writers.

Thompson Hall

Thompson Hall

 

Thompson Hall is home to the College of Forest Resources and the Forest and Wildlife Research Center. The 84,000 square-foot facility opened in 1992. The College of Forest Resources includes the Departments of Forestry, Sustainable Bioproducts and Wildlife, Fisheries and Aquaculture. The College of Forest Resources is the only nationally accredited educational program in the state for educating and developing future leaders in natural resources.

 

College of Forest Resources – http://www.cfr.msstate.edu

 

Forest and Wildlife Research Center – http://www.fwrc.msstate.edu

 

775 Stone Blvd.

GEO: 33.451030; -88.796400

Transportation Services

Walker Engineering Building

Walker Engineering Building

 

Walker Hall houses Aerospace and Civil Engineering laboratories.

 

501 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.454240; -88.787770

Williams Building

Williams Building

 

The Williams Building houses the MSU Police Department and Robert Holland Faculty Senate offices.

 

25 Walker Rd.

GEO: 33.455950; -88.792010

Wise Center

Wise Center

 

The Wise Center contains the College of Veterinary Medicine, which is 11 acres under one roof. The Vet School is one of only 28 in the nation and was the first to implement problem-based learning, where students study actual cases in veterinary medicine. Other vet schools and medical schools have adopted this form of learning from our example. The University Television Center is also located in this complex; it is a fully operational TV center. The Department of Animal and Dairy Sciences is located in this complex, occupying the fourth floor.  

 

Animal and Dairy Sciences – http://www.ads.msstate.edu

 

 

240 Wise Center Dr.

GEO: 33.445880; -88.800240

YMCA Building

YMCA Building. 1914. Italianate. The Young Men's Christian Association organized at the university in 1882. As membership and activities rose, the need for a YMCA building became evident. John D. Rockefeller pledged $40,000 to the cost of construction, under the condition that the students would raise the other $20,000 that was needed. Dr. W.A. Weatherford, an official of the Southern Area YMCA, came to the university, organized the students, and led the fundraising campaign. The money was raised, and the building was erected. For many years, the YMCA called this building home.

195 Lee Blvd.

GEO: 33.455770-88.789900

 

Back to Table of Contents

Athletics and Recreational Sports

A.J. Pitts Tennis Centre

A.J. Pitts Tennis Centre

 

The A.J. Pitts Tennis Centre is considered to be one of the finest tennis facilities among the collegiate ranks. It is a modern six-court, 1,000-seat facility. It was constructed in 1984 and has been home to State's nationally-prominent tennis program since that time.

Bryan Athletic Administration Building

Bryan Athletic Administration Building

 

The Bryan Athletic Administration Building is a crown jewel of MSU's athletic expansion projects of the 1990's. A $5 million facility that opened its doors in January 1995, the facility was made possible largely due to the generosity of the Bryan family of West Point. The Bryan Building houses MSU's athletic administration and football offices as well as MSU's athletic ticket office, the Bulldog Club, media relations, business and student services offices.

 

288 Lakeview Dr.

GEO: 33.464880; -88.791180

Davis Wade Stadium

Davis Wade Stadium

Located adjacent to the Cullis Wade Depot on the west side of campus, Scott Field is named for Don Scott, a famous 1917 Mississippi A&M College graduate and outstanding Olympic runner in the 1920 Paris games. In the late 1930s, the first 10,000-seat concrete section was completed. Later additions expanded seating to more than 61,000 including club level and skyboxes. Some additions were made possible by businessman Davis Wade Sr. of Meridian.


See a 360-degree view from the 50-yard line!

 

MS, United States

Dudy Noble Field - Polk-DeMent Stadium

Dudy Noble Field - Polk-DeMent Stadium

 

Dudy Noble Field - Polk-DeMent Stadium is home to MSU Baseball and seats about 7,200. The 2013 campaign marks the 47th season of baseball at the current site of Mississippi State baseballs’s home field, Dudy Noble Field. Some of the more highly-prized seats at games are actually found beyond the outfield fence in the "Left Field Lounge." Waiting lists greet those seeking to purchase one of nearly 75 renewable season parking passes for an assigned position in one of three rows beyond the outfield fence.

Holliman Athletic Center

Holliman Athletic Center

 

The Holliman Athletic Center was completed in April 2005. A 46,000-squre foot athletic center, it provides Bulldog football with a new practice locker room, equipment room and team meeting rooms and lounge. It also houses a state-of-the-art athletic training area and strength and conditioning facility.

Humphrey Coliseum

Humphrey Coliseum

 

"The Hump" is home to MSU's men's and women's basketball teams and had its debut season in 1975-76. Named after George Duke Humphrey, a former MSU president, it is the largest on-campus basketball arena in Mississippi at 80,000 square feet and seven stories high. The Hump was renovated in 1998 to add approximately 1,000 seats. The Coliseum now seats 10,200 and had its largest crowd of 10,724 in 2004 during a game against Ole Miss.

 

55 Coliseum Blvd.

GEO: 33.461760; -88.794020

Joe Frank Sanderson Center

Joe Frank Sanderson Center

 

This state of the art facility was completed in 1998 at a cost of $19 million. The 150,000 square foot facility hosts 2,200 patrons daily and is home to a competition size indoor swimming pool, 3 aerobics rooms, 7 glassed in racquetball courts, locker rooms, a climbing wall, 6 basketball courts, an indoor track (1/8 mile round), and a 10,000 square foot fitness center with free and machine weights, and cardiovascular equipment such as treadmills, Stairmasters, bikes and cross trainers. Cardio users can bring a radio and listen to any one of several televisions while exercising. The Sanderson Center was made possible by a gift in part by the late Joe Frank Sanderson Sr., former CEO of Sanderson Farms in Laurel, MS. The Sanderson Center was named "best fitness center in the state" by Mississippi Magazine in 2007.

 

225 Coliseum Blvd.

GEO: 33.461350; -88.790740

Leo Seal Jr. Football Complex

Leo W. Seal, Jr. Football Complex

 

GEO: 33.464286; -88.795838

MSU Golf Course

Golf Course

 

The MSU Golf Course has been nominated by GolfWeek and Golf Digest magazines as one of the premier public courses in the U.S. It is a par 72; 6,930 yard course, located on Old Highway 82.


1520 Old Highway 82 East

GEO: 33.477938-88.733283

 

McCarthy Gymnasium

162 Creelman St.

GEO: 33.453120-88.792330

 

The McCarthy Gym is the former home of MSU basketball and was renovated in 1999 as an indoor tennis facility. Originally built in 1950 and named for former coach Babe McCarthy upon his death in 1975. It also houses the Department of Kinesiology.

Mize Pavilion

Mize Pavilion

 

The latest addition to Mississippi State’s men’s and women’s basketball programs is the $11.2 million basketball Mize Pavilion practice facility. The spacious facility is 57,611 square feet and contains 28,900 square feet of court space, including two regulation courts length-wise with six high school-size cross courts. In addition to housing the offices for both MSU men’s and women’s coaching staffs, the facility also features a modern weight room, training room and a reception area that spans 5,000 square feet. An 84-space parking garage sits on the bottom level of the facility as well.

 

GEO: 33.460733; -88.793972

Newell-Grissom Building

Newell-Grissom Building

 

The Newell-Grissom Building has been MSU Volleyball’s home since 1997 and seats approximately 3,000. This building is the former animal husbandry buildingbut was obtained and renovated by the athletic department in 1996.

 

100 Old Bully

GEO: 33.454530; -88.796660

Nusz Park

Nusz Park


 


Located on the north side of the Mississippi State University campus since 1997, Nusz Park, formerly known as the MSU Softball Field. The opening game at the MSU Softball Field came on Feb. 26, 1997, with the Bulldogs sweeping Samford in a doubleheader with back-to-back 4-0 scores. The opener was witnessed by over 300 brave fans that endured inclement weather.




Nusz Park includes 1,000 maroon chairback seats and a concourse that includes restrooms and concession stands. There is also abundant standing room space around the grandstand and outfield, with the outfield portion drawing comparisons to Dudy Noble Field’s world-famous Left Field Lounge.




 


The facility carries the name of alumni couple Tommy and Terri Nusz of Houston, Texas. The Nusz’ lead gift for the softball facility was part of a significant contribution from them for Infinite Impact: The Mississippi State University Campaign. The campaign gift continues their longtime support of Mississippi State and will benefit athletics, academics, and other areas of the institution.



Palmeiro Center

Palmeiro Center

 

The Palmeiro Center is a 68,000 square foot floor area accommodating a complete baseball infield within the context of a full football playing field. Retractable batting cages, which may be lowered from the ceiling, and football goal posts are included inside. The Bryce Griffis room, a banquet facility that seats up to 350 people, is located on the south end of the facility.

 

675 Collegeview St.

GEO: 33.463210; -88.795670

Recreational Complex

RecPlex

 

The RecPlex is a national award winning Recreational Sports complex with several multipurpose fields and four lighted softball fields.

 

154 Stone Blvd.

GEO: 33.440940; -88.794340

Shira Field House

Shira Field House

 

The Shira Field House is home to a 40 yard artificial turf football practice field, athletic training rooms, and weight rooms for student athletes and is named for Charley Shira, former head football coach and athletic director.

 

235 Lakeview Dr.

GEO: 33.464360; -88.792880

Soccer Field

Soccer Field

 

Home to the Mississippi State women's soccer team since 1995, the Mississippi State Soccer Field gives the Bulldogs one of the finest playing surfaces in the Southeast. The facility features a main grandstand area which accommodates more than 500 people with opportunities for expansion in the future.

 

GEO: 33.460100; -88.795700

Spencer Stadium and Carl Maddox Track

Spencer Stadium and Carl Maddox Track

 

The Spencer Stadium and Carl Maddox Track is open for students to use. The football practice fields sit behind the track. The stadium seats 1,500 and was named after W.O. Spencer, former MSU Olympian. The Track was named after Carl Maddox, a former MSU Athletic Director. The $3.2 million renovation to the Carl Maddox Track at W.O. Spencer Stadium  was completed in 2011, in time for several MSU home meets during that spring, including the SEC/Big 10 Challenge in March. The state-of-the-art facility feature nine lanes, a steeplechase water jump and high jump, pole fault and long/triple jump areas, in addition to a javelin runway and shot put and hammer and discus throw rings.

 

195 Lakeview Dr.

GEO: 33.465020; -88.794078

Templeton Athletic Academic Center

Templeton Athletic Academic Center

 

Opened in November 2008, this 34,000 square foot addition to the University is the home to the Office of Athletic Academics. The TAAC helps the student-athletes practice effective time management due to its close location to the weight room, training room, practice facilities, Coaches’ Offices, and Residence Halls. This facility features 34 tutor rooms, 8 private study rooms, 1 large study area with 20 tables and 100 chairs, 4 computer labs, and a large conference room. This facility has the 2nd largest computer lab on the MSU Campus. The Templeton Center also has RFoC (Real Food on Campus - an extension of Marketplace at Perry that serves lunch and dinner, Monday through Friday to the campus community). The RFoC is open for anyone to eat.

 

GEO: 33.464050; -88.792510

Turman Field House and M Club

Turman Field House

 

Turman Field House serves as a locker room for MSU and visiting teams during home football games and was renovated in 1999 to enhance locker rooms and provide a recruiting area for home games.

 

40 Creelman St.

GEO: 33.455580; -88.793610

Back to Table of Contents

Residence Halls

Collegiate Recovery Community House

Cresswell Hall

Cresswell Hall

 

Cresswell Hall was renovated in 2002 and is named for May Cresswell, who served as Mississippi’s Home Demonstration Agent. Cresswell Hall is home to the Day One Leadership Community. Day One students live together, learn together and lead together, using skills gained in the classroom to achieve a common goal, the completion of a service-learning project. The semester-long experience immerses students in an atmosphere focused on character and leadership.

 

36 Magruder St.

GEO: 33.450890; -88.791560

Critz Hall

Critz Hall

 

Critz Hall was renovated in 2001 and is named after Hugh Critz, who served as MSU’s president from 1930-34. This co-residential hall is for freshman and upperclassman with an occupancy of 216 students on three floors.

 

685 Barr Ave.

GEO: 33.457350; -88.787160

 

Deavenport Hall

Dogwood Hall

Griffis Hall

Griffis Hall

 

Griffis Hall houses the Shackouls Honors College and serves as an honors residence hall. It features double rooms with private baths. It also has a dining location, Village Pizza, as well as classroom space and a computer lab for honors classes.

 

500 Coliseum Blvd.

GEO: 33.458880; -88.786720

Hathorn Hall

Hathorn Hall

 

Hathorn Hall is home to the Student Counseling Center and serves as a residence hall. It accommodates about 225 students, is a co-residential building, and has been recently renovated.

 

76 Magruder St.

GEO: 33.450320; -88.791780

 

Herbert Hall

Herbert Hall

 

Herbert Hall was built in 1929 in the Romanesque Revival style and was named for John C. Herbert, early professor of humanities and government. Herbert Hall is now home of the Department of Housing and Residence Life and also serves as a residence hall.

 

170 Herbert St.

GEO: 33.453320; -88.786310

 

 

Hull Hall

Hull Hall

 

Hull Hall, constructed in 1938 in the Georgian Revival style, is named for David C. Hull, president from 1920 to 1925. The second floor currently serves as the Bagley College of Engineering Living-Learning Community. The community provides a unique opportunity for freshmen engineering majors to live and learn together. Upper-division engineering mentors live on the hall with the students.

 

85 Walker Rd.

GEO: 33.456270; -88.791280

Hurst Hall

Hurst Hall

 

Hurst Hall opened in the fall of 2006. The residence hall features double rooms with private baths.

Magnolia Hall

Magnolia Hall

 

Magnolia Hall, together with Oak Hall, house over 700 students combined and both opened in the Fall of 2012. These halls look very similar and have similar amenities to Mosely Hall.

 

15 Morgan Ave

GEO: 33.447737; -88.792127

McKee Hall

McKee Hall

 

McKee Hall was renovated in 2000 and is designated a male hall. McKee holds approximately 245 men and is a mirror image of Sessums Hall.

 

450 Lee Blvd.

GEO: 33.455300; -88.785240

Moseley Hall

Moseley Hall

 

Moseley Hall is a 300+ bed residence hall which opened in fall 2010. This hall has similar amenities to the halls in Zacharias Village. The Office of Student Leadership and Student Engagement has both offices and classrooms in this building.

 

Rooms feature private baths, individual room temperature control, cable TV/HBO, and refrigerator/microwave. Rooms are fully furnished, and the building also includes state-of-the-art classrooms and office spaces.

 

GEO: 33.449964; -88.790506

 

Nunnelee Hall

Nunnelee Hall

 

Formerly known as North Hall, Nunnelee Hall opened in fall 2007 and has double rooms with private baths.

 

215 Hurst Ln.

GEO: 33.457910; -88.786010

Oak Hall

Oak Hall

 

Oak Hall, as well as Magnolia Hall, house over 700 students combined and opened in the Fall of 2012. These halls look very similar and have similar amenities to Moseley Hall.

 

205 Magruder St.

GEO: 33.448685; -88.791868

Rice Hall

The co-residence hall, which houses about 500 students, opened in 1968 and is named for Nannie Herndon Rice, who worked to build and uplift the library facilities at Mississippi State. She also served as secretary of the Mississippi Women's Suffrage Movement.

 

Rice Hall is a non-renovated, co-residence hall which houses about 500 students.

 

180 Magruder St.

GEO: 33.449590; -88.791020

Ruby Hall

Ruby Hall

 

Ruby Hall was completed in 2005 and was the first building completed in Zacharias Village. It has single rooms and double rooms with private baths. Ruby Hall is the only residence hall in the Village to offer private rooms.

Sessums Hall

Sessums Hall

 

Sessums Hall was renovated in 1999 and is designated as a female hall. Sessums holds approximately 245 women and is a mirror image of McKee Hall.

Back to Table of Contents

Food and Dining

Barnes & Noble Cafe

Barnes and Noble Cafe features grab-and-go sandwiches and salads, Starbucks Coffee, and Cheesecake Factory pastries.

Burger King

Burger King is the second largest fast food hamburger chain in the world. Every day, over 11 million guests visit a BK somewhere in the world. Here at MSU, Burger King is no different. With convenient hours and a full menu, BK is a fan favorite! HAVE IT YOUR WAY with a meal form Burger King today!

Burrito Bowl

Burrito Bowl offers signature rice bowls, burritos, and salads with a unique international flair. You can also build your own with everything from Thai peanut sauce and Athenian Greek dressing to basil pesto and authentic buffalo sauce. 

Burrito Bowl also offers premium soft-serve frozen yogurt. Enjoy a cup of your favorite flavor of frozen yogurt and visit the toppings bar for options of fresh fruits, natural nuts and granolas, and splurge toppings.

Stop by Burrito Bowl today for an authentic, bold, and
“crave-able” treat!

Chick-Fil-A

From the famous chicken sandwich to the delicious waffle fries, Chick-Fil-A serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner options to accommodate the needs of the customers. Located in the Colvard Student Union.

Einstein Bros. Bagels

Einstein Bros. Bagels is Food for Thought. Located in the Mitchell Memorial Library, this cafe' offers super food for the brain and comfort food for the tummy. Einstein's serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner with a variety of coffee, bagels, wraps, and paninis. Check out Einstein Bros. Bagel's website for more information on this national brand.

 

MSU Dining Services

Fresh Food

Opening 2015, the building will have an indoor seating capacity of 480 and a 48-seat outdoor dining area on its northwest corner, along with a student lounge.

 

Food destinations will include traditional southern-style fare, sauté and stir-fry, signature salads, along with deli selections, a breakfast bar, rotisserie, and an international station equipped with a Mongolian grill.

 

Juva Juice

McArthur Café Express

McArthur Café Express serves delicious hotline lunch from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. In a hurry? grab n' go deli sandwiches and a variety of other convenient treats to get you through the day!

McArthur Café Express

McArthur Café Express serves delicious hotline lunch from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. In a hurry? grab n' go deli sandwiches and a variety of other convenient treats to get you through the day!

McArthur Café Express

McArthur Café Express serves delicious hotline lunch from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. In a hurry? grab n' go deli sandwiches and a variety of other convenient treats to get you through the day!

Moe's Southwest Grill

Moe's Southwest Grill, conveniently located next to Subway near the center of campus, serves over 20 ingredients that are made fresh daily! Southwestern fare such as burritos, tacos, quesadillas, rice bowls, and more! Vegetarian and gluten-free options are also available. 
State Fountain Bakery is proud to serve Starbucks Coffee. They offer it all from frappuccinos to flavored lattes. These drinks will warm you from head to toe. Don't wait to get your fix until the afternoon. They are open at 7:30 a.m. Monday through Friday.

P.O.D.

P.O.D. offers you the flexibility of purchasing quick and convenient snacks, grab n' go items, frozen foods, and meal replacements without leaving your residential areas. All new grab-and-go items! From turkey wraps & pasta salad to desserts & fruit cups, P.O.D. has everything you need!

Panda Express

Panda Express features Mandarin & Szechwan wok-cooked entrees.  Entrees include favorites like beef with broccoli, orange chicken, kung pao chicken, sweet & sour pork, fried shrimp & mixed vegetables. 
 

Pegasus Dining

Pegasus Dining offers a wide selection of made-to-order grill items and deli sandwiches. They offer a hot line veggie plate and have grab n' go items. You can use your block meal at this location.

Perry Cafeteria

Perry Cafeteria

 

Perry Hall was built in 1921 in the Late Gothic Review style.The gothic arches and wood beams that support its gabled roof are more suggestive of a cathedral than a cafeteria. At the time it was built, the University Cafeteria was the largest college cafeteria in the U.S., so big, it was also used as a dance hall. In the early years the building was even used as an indoor football practice site. Perry Cafeteria is named for George Perry, a 1919 Tunica County graduate. His widow, Jane Perry, made a gift annuity to renovate and preserve the cafeteria in his memory, in the amount of $1.5 million. In recognition of Mrs. Perry's gift and George Perry's long association with his alma mater, the name of the university's cafeteria was changed to Perry Hall. It seats more than 770 people and serves 3,000 meals daily. Dining services has an annual grocery bill of $1.5 million. The cafeteria sits above the Moe's Southwest Grill and Subway restaurant.

 

Visit MSU Dining Services

 

85 Old Main, Perry Cafeteria

Pizza Hut Express

Provisions On Demand

Provisions On Demand offers you the flexibility of purchasing quick and convenient snacks, grab n' go items, frozen foods, and meal replacements without leaving your residential areas. All new grab-and-go items! From turkey wraps & pasta salad to desserts & fruit cups, P.O.D. has everything you need!

Starbucks

Starbucks offers a complete line of hot and cold coffee and specialty drinks. They have amazing coffee from around the world and handcrafted beverages to discover and enjoy. They serve pastries, deserts, and snack bars. The perfect cup of coffee and delicious, wholesome snack can make your day. Don't put it off any longer: discover your specialty drink today! Check out the Starbucks website for more information on this national brand.

State Fountain Bakery

State Fountain Bakery is a decades old tradition at Mississippi State. Featuring a wide selection of freshly made cakes, pies, cookies, donuts, breads and more, the State Fountain Bakery has sweet to treat any palate. In the mood for a milkshake?  How about a handcrafted milkshake made with MSU ice cream?  All of your favorite flavors are featured, along with a wide variety of toppings!

State Fountain Bakery is proud to serve Starbucks Coffee. They offer it all from frappuccinos to flavored lattes. These drinks will warm you from head to toe. Don't wait to get your fix until the afternoon. They are open at 7:30 a.m. Monday through Friday. 
Whatever you choose, at Zoca you’ll get mucho food for your dinero…so you’ll never leave hungry.

Subway

Subway serves up one of today's most popular sandwiches - for lunch or breakfast!  Freshly baked breads are topped with premium delicatessen meats, cheese and extras, combined and topped to order. Served in convenient carry out bags, it's the perfect meal for your busy schedule!  Subway - Eat Fresh!

Templeton Dining Hall

Templeton Dining Hall

 

RFoC at Templeton is one of our Dining Halls that features
all-you-care-to-eat lunch and dinner, with international entrees, grill, deli, salad bar, and more! Check out The Action Zone where Chef's creations are made right before your eyes.
FEED THE DAWG & CHAMPION INSIDE!

Located beside Dudy Noble Field, across the street from the Bryan Athletic Office. Remember, it is only a shuttle ride away that stops right in front of RFoC at Templeton!

 

http://www.msstatedining.com

Village Pizza

The Village, located in Griffis Hall offers a selection of fresh, made-to-order pizzas, as well as po'boy sandwiches, wings and more!  Stop in for breakfast, or shop our convenience items to stock your room.  Looking for a healthy snack, but running short on time?  Enjoy a smoothie from Freshens or browse our grab'n'go selection for nutritious treats on the go!

Back to Table of Contents

Libraries

Architecture Library

Mitchell Memorial Library

Mitchell Memorial Library

 

Mitchell Memorial Library is the largest library in the state and doubled in size in 1998 following a $14.8 million project. It now includes a large computer lab, study floor, coffee and snack shop, and the Grisham Room, where writer John Grisham’s original manuscripts and notes are on display. Grisham is an alumnus of Mississippi State with a degree in accounting. Additional libraries are located within the College of Veterinary Medicine and in the College of Architecture, Art and Design.

 

Mississippi State University Libraries

 

U.S. Grant Presidential Library

 

395 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.452830-88.788620

 

Vet School Library

Back to Table of Contents

Greek Life

Alpha Delta Pi

Chi Omega

Delta Chi

Delta Delta Delta

Delta Gamma

Farmhouse

Kappa Alpha

Kappa Delta Sorority

Kappa Sigma

Lambda Chi Alpha

Phi Delta Theta

Phi Gamma Delta

Phi Kappa Tau

Phi Mu

Pi Beta Phi

Pi Kappa Alpha

Pi Kappa Phi

Sigma Alpha Epsilon

Sigma Chi

Zeta Tau Alpha

Back to Table of Contents

Art & Performance Venues

Amphitheater

Band Practice Field

72 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.448040-88.789140

 

Band/Choral Rehearsal Hall

Band/Choral Rehearsal Hall

 

Newly constructed in the fall of 2007, the Band Hall is home of the "Famous Maroon Band," named by a sports writer in the early 1930's, as well as the Choral Rehearsal Hall. The 18,000 square foot facility includes practice areas, storage, and two music libraries.

 

72 Hardy Rd.

GEO: 33.448040; -88.789140

Briscoe Hall

Briscoe Hall

 

Briscoe Hall houses faculty offices for the College of Architecture, Art and Design, in addition to drawing studios, ceramic studios, printmaking, traditional photography labs, and a new digital photo computer lab.

 

120 Garner Cir.

GEO: 33.457840; -88.791970

Freeman Hall

Freeman Hall

 

Freeman Hall houses the Department of Art, painting and drawing studios, a digital photo computer lab, student studio spaces and faculty offices.

 

415 Barr Ave.

GEO: 33.457430; -88.791830

McComas Hall

McComas Hall is home of the communication department, with majors including public relations, broadcast journalism, and theater. The building also has a 550-seat theater, designed to look like a baby grand piano.

 

216 Presidents Cir.

GEO: 33.450680; -88.790590

Stafford Hall

Stafford Hall

 

Stafford Hall houses the Design studios, Graphic Design studio, Interactive Media Lab, 2 Graphis Design Computer labs, Photography Studio, Foundation Studio and Faculty Offices.

 

475 Barr Ave.

GEO: 33.457340; -88.791060

Student Media Center

Student Media Center

 

The Student Media Center houses The Reflector (campus newspaper), Sexual Assault Services and WMSV Radio Station.

 

105 Lee Blvd.

GEO: 33.455140-88.791360

 

Visual Arts Center (VAC)

Visual Arts Center 2 (VAC)

Back to Table of Contents

Monuments and Memorials

G.V. "Sonny" Montgomery Statue

G.V. "Sonny" Montgomery Statue

 

The G.V. "Sonny" Montgomery Statue was donated by the Student Association and other friends of MSU and was installed on May 6, 2005. The bronze statue stands on a marble base of a brick pedestal on the north front lawn of Allen Hall, between Allen and McCool Halls. The inscription reads, "G.V. 'Sonny' Montgomery. Mississippi State University College Student Association President, 1943. Member of U.S. House of Representatives 1967-1997. Author of the Montgomery G.I. Bill."

"A of Mississippi" Monument

"A of Mississippi" Monument

 

The "A of Mississippi" Monument was installed in the front yard of McCain Engineering on December 15, 1998. It is a common practice for every chapter at a College of Engineering at every university in the nation to have the monument (Tau Beta Pi – Engineering Honorary Fraternity). The monument is fabricated in the shape of a timber bridge bent. The inscription says "A of Mississippi Tau Beta Pi" (in Greek letters).

4-H Club Flagpole

4-H Club Flagpole

 

The 4-H Club Flagpole is located northeast of the Lloyd-Ricks-Watson building at Lee Boulevard and was donated by the Agriculture Extension Service. The inscription on the pole base reads, "Dedicated by the Agriculture Service to all who contributed to the 4-H Club Foundation of Mississippi, Inc." (Name of Members).

Angel Statue

Angel Statue

 

This beautiful angel statue was installed in the Fall of 2009 in front of the Chapel of Memories. The sculpture is one of two commissioned by MSU and the Campus Art Committee as a part of an effort to enhance the appearance of green spaces. Rod Moorhead of Oxford is the artist.

Bell Island

Bell Island

 

Installed in 1880 and renovated by the Class of 1939, Bell Island is located in front of the Chapel of Memories. The inscription reads, "Original Chapel Bell... October 6, 1880, Renovated by the class of 1939... Senior Memorial Committee, V.L. Cauthen, Chairman." The bell was crushed by a downed tree during a windstorm in the early 1960s. A replica of the original bell has been mounted on this pedestal with new concrete paving around the base.

Bulldog Sculpture

Bulldog Sculpture (TaTonka)

 

This bulldog sculpture was also installed August of 2008, was created by Edmund Schumpert of Eupora, MS and was donated by MSU. This bully is located on the east side of the Junction, near the Lloyd-Ricks-Watson building. Bully XVIII (TaTonka) was the model for this statue. The current mascot, Bully XX (Champ) is a direct decedent of TaTonka.

Bulldog Sculpture

Bulldog Sculpture

 

The bulldog sculpture was installed in 2003 on the west side of Scott Field and was donated by the MSU Athletic Department. The inscription reads “Dedicated to the Lasting Memory of our Beloved Mascots.” With the passing of each of the mascots a plaque is added with their name and birth/death date.

Bulldog Statue

Bulldog Statue (TaTonka)

 

This bulldog stature was installed in August 2008 and is located on the south side of the Junction, in front of the M Club. During the Dawg Walk (pregame event on home football game day) the coaches and players enter the Junction and rub the head of the bulldog statue before entering the Turman Field house. MSU donated the statue and the artist is Edmund Schumpert of Eupora, MS.

Bully Sculpture

Bully Sculpture

 

Installed in October 1970, the "Bully" sculpture is located north of the Colvard Student Union and was donated by MSU '"Circle K." Design and location by university faculty of fine arts and landscape architecture and erected in October 1970. The sculptor, Leonard Farley, was head of the art department for many years.

Cast Iron Fountain

Fountain

 

This cast iron fountain, installed in 1987 on the west side of the Chapel of Memories, was donated by Adonis Watson Carpenter in memory of her husband. The inscription reads, "Given by Adonis Watson Carpenter in loving memory of her husband Randle Burt Carpenter." As a young girl, Mrs. Carpenter lived in a faculty house that occupied the present site of the Chapel of Memories. Carpenter Hall is named for her father who was the Department Head of Mechanical Engineering from 1918 to 1938.

Darden Monument

Darden Monument

 

The Captain Put Darden Monument is located on the Southeast corner of Montgomery Hall and is precast concrete. The monument was donated by the Patrons of Husbandry of the United States in 1885. The inscription reads, “Captain Put Darden. Born March 10, 1836. Died….. When he died for man.” Captain Darden was the Master of the National Grange and the State Grange and instrumental in securing the funding that helped establish Mississippi State.

Historic Campus Entry Gate

Historic Campus Entry Gate

 

The campus entry columns were installed in 1922 at the University Drive entrance. The columns were a donation of the Class of 1922 and the inscription on the plaque reads "For our Alma Mater in Memory of the Class of 1922" (Names of all class members)

Lee Bust and Plaza

Stephen D. Lee Bust

 

The Lee Bust and Plaza is on the north end of the Drill Field. The brick seat wall was notated by the Chi Omega (Phi Delta Chapter) in June 1986. The inscription on the seat says, “Chi Omega in commemoration of fifty years at Mississippi State University 1936-1986. Phi Delta Chapter." The Lee Bust, by sculptor Theo Alice Ruggles Kitson, is made of brass and was installed in June 1986. The inscription reads “Stephen Dill Lee. Lieutenant General CSA. First President Agricultural and Mechanical College of Mississippi.”

Metal Benches & Stands (The Hitchhiker Stand)

This metal bench and stand is located at the intersection of Lee Boulevard and Walker Road and was donated by the Senior Classes of 1948 & 1949, and is inscribed with the same. In the years around World War II, when few students had vehicles, this structure was one of three such structures dispersed along what was then MS Highway 12. the locations of the other identical stands were south of Turman Field House, to the West; and the corner of University Drive and Hardy Road to the East. Men wishing to “hitch a ride” would stand at these Hitch-Hiker stands to hail rides home for the weekend or to the “W” in Columbus, since that was where most of the women were!

Michel John Petro Sculpture

The Michel John Petro Sculpture was donated by the Petro Family and the University and was installed in 1985. This sculpture resides in front of McArthur Hall and the inscription reads "In Memory of Michel John Petro, Leland Mississippi, November 10, 1952 to April 22, 1971"

Sculpture

The Bull Ring

The Eternal Flame

The Eternal Flame

 

The Eternal Flame was installed at the north entrance to Allen Hall in 1997 and was donated by Mississippi State University Development Foundation. The Eternal Flame is a red granite obelisk with etched glass circular windows with a gas flame inside. The inscription reads, "This flame was lighted September 27, 1997 as a perpetual tribute to the thousands of alumni, friends, faculty and staff whose generosity in decades past and whose continuing support will ensure that educational excellence and the spirit of Mississippi State University will endure. The first major gifts campaign in Mississippi State University History began in 1992. More than 45,000 gifts from individuals and corporations contributed to the success of The Campaign for Mississippi State which raised more than $143 million before its close in 1997. The names of many of the donors are etched on the bricks around this monument and those composing the walk of honor in the center of the drill field."

The Scholar

The Scholar

 

The Library "Reader" Sculpture was donated by the Campus Art Committee in the Fall of 2009. The bronze statue sits in front of the Mitchell Memorial Library and was created by Oxford artist Rod Moorhead.

Trousse Blanc

The marble sculpture "Trousse Blanc" by Swiss-born modernist Antoine Poncet is located South of Ballew Hall. The sculpture was donated by the Sara Lee Corporation in 2008.

Vietnam Memorial

Vietnam Memorial

 

The Vietnam Memorial is made of gray granite and was installed in 1988. The Memorial is located on the southeast corner of Magruder Hall and was donated by the Mississippi State University Vietnam Veterans. The inscription reads, “In memory of those who made the supreme sacrifice and in honor of all who served our nation. VIETNAM. 1965 – 1973.”

WWI Memorial

WWI Memorial

 

The "Doughboy" Statue WWI Memorial is a marble statue on a granite pedestal. Located on the east side of Lee Hall at the circle and Lee Boulevard, the statue was donated by the Class of 1932 and installed the same year. The inscription reads, "Class of 1932. Memorial to those students of Mississippi State College who gave their lives in the World War," along with the names of all class members in granite.

Walk of Honor

Walk of Honor

 

This walk, located between the Lee Bust and Flagpole on the Drill Field was funded by the MSU Development Foundation. Any donors giving five hundred dollars or more to the Campaign for Mississippi State were eligible to have their name(s) inscribed in a brick that was then placed in this walk. Approximately 6400 inscribed bricks are placed here. Installation began in 1992 and was completed in 1998.

Wiley Carter Memorial

Wiley Carter Memorial Fountain

 

The Wiley Carter Memorial Fountain was given to the University by the family of Wiley Carter in 2001 and is located west of Carpenter Hall. The fountain is marble with a brick base and is inscribed with “The Wiley Carter Memorial” along the top corner.

Back to Table of Contents

Research Centers

A.B. McKay Food Research & Enology Lab

A.B. McKay Food Research & Enology Lab

 

The McKay Food Research & Enology Lab began in 1974, following a $500,000 appropriation by the Mississippi Legislature. The lab was part of efforts by then MSU Vice President Louis Wise to provide university support for new agricultural enterprises in the state.

 

Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station – http://www.mafes.msstate.edu

 

Center for Educational Partnerships

Center for Historical Studies

Clay Lyle Entomology Lab

Clay Lyle Entomology Lab

 

The Clay Lyle Entomology Complex was built in 1971, and principally houses entomology faculty; although additional faculty and staff from the Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology and Plant Pathology are housed here as well. Clay Lyle is home to the Mississippi Entomological Museum. The museum’s collection contains more than 1,000,000 pinned specimens, and more than 35,000 are being added annually. The MSU Insect Rearing Center is housed in the basement of the Clay Lyle Building. The MSU Electron Microscope Center is also housed in the basement of the Clay Lyle building and serves as an important resource for research and education in scanning and transmission electron microscopy.

 

Mississippi Entomological Museum - http://mississippientomologicalmuseum.org.msstate.edu/

Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology,

 

Entomology and Plant Pathology – http://biochemistry.msstate.edu

 

Insect Rearing Center - http://www.irc.entomology.msstate.edu/workshop/

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

Electron Microscope Center

 

100 Old Hwy. 12

GEO: 33.453831; -88.801664

Cobb Institute of Archaeology

Cobb Institute of Archaeology

 

The Cobb Institute of Archaeology at Mississippi State University was founded in June 1971 through gifts provided by Cully and Lois Cobb and houses the Department of Anthropology and Middle Eastern Cultures. The Institute sponsors archaeological field work, research and instruction in the archaeology of the Middle East and southern United States. The Institute is a specially designed archaeological facility donated by the Cobb family. They also provided a permanent endowment for support of the Institute’s activities. The Cobb Institute is part of the College of Arts and Sciences.

 

340 Lee Blvd.

GEO: 33.454890-88.787530


 

Edwards Building

Mississippi State Steel Research Lab

Forest Products Laboratory

Forest Products Laboratory

 

The R.T. Clapp Forest Products Laboratory is comprised of laboratories, office buildings and other special-purpose buildings with a combined floor space of more than 90,000 square feet. These buildings house the analytical and testing equipment, pilot plants and support facilities required for comprehensive research programs involving wood and wood products. The Forest Products Laboratory is a unit of MSU’s Forest and Wildlife Research Center.

 

Forest and Wildlife Research Center – http://www.fwrc.msstate.edu

 

 

100 Blackjack Rd

GEO: 33.450910; -88.804960

Franklin Center for Furniture Manufacturing and Management

Franklin Furniture Center

 

The Franklin Center is a 35,500 square foot furniture research facility that supports a comprehensive furniture research, testing and technical assistance program. The Center houses the Franklin Furniture Institute. A key function of the facility is to display and demonstrate the collective programs and outcomes of all units within the Institute and to showcase the furniture industry in Mississippi. The Franklin Furniture Institute is a unit of MSU’s Forest and Wildlife Research Center.

 

Forest and Wildlife Research Center – http://www.fwrc.msstate.edu

 

Franklin Furniture Institute – http://www.ffi.msstate.edu

 

100 Blackjack Rd.

GEO: 33.450210; -88.803720

H.H. Leveck Animal Research Center (South Farm)

H.H. Leveck Animal Research Center

 

The H. H. Leveck Animal Research Center (South Farm) is made up of some 1100+ acres just south of the Mississippi State University campus. The center is dedicated to livestock and forage production research in the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station. The largest portion of land is dedicated to beef research and support of the base beef cattle herds. The second largest area on the center is the horse unit. The research and breeding program continues to grow along with the equine industry in the state.

This facility also houses the Poultry Science Research area, Aquaculture Research area, a bird facility and an observatory maintained and used by the Physics Department.

 

 

Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station – http://www.mafes.msstate.edu


College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu


Howell observatory – http://www.physics.msstate.edu/resources/observatory.php




 

GEO: 33.439973; -88.797533

High Performance Computing Collaboratory (HPC2)

Malcolm A. Portera High Performance Computing Center (HPC2)

 

The Malcolm A. Portera High Performance Computing Center (HPC2) is an evolution of the MSU NSF Engineering Research Center (ERC) for Computational Field Simulation and is a coalition of member centers and groups that share a common core objective of advancing state-of-the-art computational science and engineering using high performance computing. The mission of the HPC2 is to serve the university, state and nation through excellence in computational science and engineering.

 

2 Research Blvd

GEO: 33.473430; -88.790740

Institute For Clean Energy Technology

Institute for Clean Energy Technology (ICET)

 

The Energy Institute was created in 2008 to provide a mechanism to coordinate energy research at MSU. The Institute encourages scientists and engineers to work together on energy projects and to provide an atmosphere to exchange ideas and develop creative solutions for the complex energy challenges facing the world today.

Institute for the Humanities

John C. Stennis Institute (Annex)

MSU Business Incubator

Mississippi State University’s Business Incubator provides startups and other early stage companies with infrastructure, community, and resources designed to help them build stable, fast-growing businesses.

 

Completed in September of 2012, the incubator encompasses 10,000 sqft, including 10 private office spaces, coworking space, shared conference and multimedia room, and copy/break room. It also has an onsite cafe serving breakfast and lunch daily.

 

60 Technology Blvd.

(662) 325-3521

Mississippi Seed Association

Mississippi Seed Association

 

Mississippi Foundation Seed Stocks was established in 1959 under the direction of the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station. Previously, the respective plant breeders administrated foundation seed for each crop.

 

Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station – http://www.mafes.msstate.edu

 

MSU Foundation Seed – http://www.mafes.msstate.edu/foundation-seed

 

Multi-Tennant Building

Social Science Research Center (SSRC)

 

The Social Science Research Center (SSRC) was established at Mississippi State University in 1950 to promote, enhance and facilitate social science research and related scholarly activities. The Center is organized with university-wide responsibilities and reports to the Vice President for Research and Economic Development and the Vice President for Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine. The Center offers a superior research environment with an impressive array of research opportunities and options, state-of-the-art facilities, laboratories and support units that enhance and expand both the scope and quality of social science research. The SSRC fosters a rigorous and independent research environment to ensure objective, relevant and unbiased analyses.

 

 


Research Blvd

GEO: 33.471860; -88.791300

 

Pace Seed Technology Building

Pace Seed Technology Building

The Pace Seed Technology Building is currently home to the Omics Biology Laboratory and offices for IGBB scientific staff.

 

650 Stone Blvd.

GEO: 33.449600; -88.796580

Petroleum Products Lab

Petroleum Products Lab

 

264 Morrill Rd.

GEO: 33.451050; -88.786510

R.R. Foil Plant Science Research Center (North Farm)

R.R. Foil Plant Science Research Center 

(North Farm)

 

The R. R. Foil Plant Science Research Center, known by many as North Farm, is comprised of approximately 750 acres. This facility includes 550 acres of tillable land for a variety of research projects in the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station. Researched crops include cotton, soybeans, corn, sweet potatoes, grain sorghum, peanuts and many others. Along with tillable acreage, research is performed with turf, ornamentals and aquatic weeds andplants. The Veterans Memorial Rose Garden is located at the entrance of the R.R. Foil Plant Science Research Center.

 

Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station – http://www.mafes.msstate.edu

Veterans Memorial Rose Garden – http://www.rosegarden.msstate.edu

 

GEO: 33.472305; -88.784068

RTC Building

The Mississippi State University Research and Technology Corporation is a not-for-profit company organized in 1998 for scientific, literary, charitable, and educational purposes. It also facilitates the development and incubation of start-up companies and/or expansion of companies that will improve the economic development of the region.

 

The RTC building houses RTC, the Office of Entrepreneurship and Technology Transfer and incubator companies.

 

60 Technology Blvd.

662-325-3521

MSU Business Incubator

Scales Building

The James W. Scales building is home to the H.W. Essig Nutrition Lab.

 

125 Stone Blvd.

GEO: 33.442910; -88.797740

T.K. Martin Center

The T.K. Martin Center  provides comprehensive, multi-disciplinary evaluations to remove limitations through the application of assistive technology, allowing individuals to participate in educational, vocational and leisure activities to the fullest degree they choose.

University Greenhouse Complex

In December 1997, the programs that use MSU's campus greenhouses moved into their first new home in 100 years. Located behind Dorman Hall, the facility includes 11,000 square feet of greenhouse space, plus a 6,000 square-foot head house with office, workshop and classroom space.

 

Plant and Soil Sciences – http://www.pss.msstate.edu

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

 

900 Stone Ave.

GEO: 33.453120; -88.794400

Back to Table of Contents

Points of Interest

Butler Guest House

Butler Guest House

 

The construction of the Eugene Butler Guest House, completed in 1988, was made possible by gifts from Eugene Butler, a 1913 graduate of Mississippi State University. The Guest House is a luxury two story, 10 room hotel located on the north side of the Williams Building, parallel to Walker Road and next to Davis Wade Stadium. A covered walkway connects it with the Williams Building lobby.

 

45 Walker Rd.

GEO: 33.456260-88.792120

 

Center For America's Veterans

126 Magruder St, Miss State, MS, United States

(662) 325-2024

 

Chapel of Memories

Chapel of Memories

 

The chapel is a memorial to Old Main, the original campus dormitory that housed thousands of students until it was destroyed by a 1959 fire. President Ben Hilbun conceived the idea of a tribute featuring the recovered Old Main bricks. A much-used facility and especially popular for weddings, the Chapel shares grounds with a carillon tower, which chimes every hour on the hour. At 10 p.m. it plays the fight song, "Hail State!"

 

135 Walker Rd.

GEO: 33.456320; -88.790500

Cotton Mill Convention Center / E. E. Cooley Building

The E.E. Cooley Building (John M. Stone Cotton Mill) was built in 1902. Located just off campus, the Stone Cotton Mill is a reminder of the early 20th century movement to bring textile technology and manufacturing to Mississippi. The mill was indirectly associated with the Textile School at Mississippi State for 12 years. It operated as a cotton mill until 1962. Mississippi State purchased the building in 1965 and changed its name to the E.E. Cooley Building, naming it for the former superintendent of utilities who served the university for 46 years. Presently, it is undergoing renovation to become a new world-class conference center. This building was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.

Drill Field

 

Located at the Center of the MSU campus, the Drill Field is a popular gathering place for students. When Mississippi A&M was founded in 1878 it was founded as a land grant institution. Early ROTC cadets would have morning and evening drill in this area of campus, therefore earning the name we know today – the Drill Field. Today, students use this open green space for various activities, including a back to school pep rally, called "The Drill," held each year on the first day of fall classes.

 

The Drill Field is defined at its north and south ends by the mirror-image buildings, Lee Hall (the original University building, now the division of languages building, far left in picture below) and Swalm Hall (home to the Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering, far right in picture below). Old Main was the original dormitory, west of Lee Hall; it burned in a tragic fire, and was replaced by the Colvard Student Union. The largest building fronting the Drill Field is Mitchell Memorial Library (immediately to right of flagpole in picture below).

Eckie's Pond

Eckie's Pond

 

Built by horticulture professor A.B. McKay, the pond was designed to demonstrate the use of natural irrigation in truck produce farming. Its name evolved from "Echo," the nickname early students gave the quite-deaf McKay. Over time, Echo's Pond evolved to Eckie's Pond.

 

GEO: 33.451020; -88.785670

Howell Observatory

Hunter Henry Center

Hunter Henry Center

 

Built with gifts from alumni and friends, the Hunter Henry Center opened during the 2002-2003 academic year. It houses the Division of Development and Alumni with offices for the Alumni Association and the MSU Foundation. The Bulldog Calling Center occupies the basement.

 

MSU Foundation

 

1 Hunter Henry Blvd..

GEO: 33.459050; -88.797520

Lee Hall

Lee Hall. 1909. Beaux Arts.Lee Hall, built in 1909 in the Beaux Arts style, was named for Stephen Dill Lee, the first president of the university. Lee Hall was built as an academic building and chapel. In the early years, it served as the main administration building and has since been home to the Office of the President, English and Foreign Language departments, and the Student Counseling Center. In October of 1948 a fire broke out on the roof where construction workers had been working with tar. The fire destroyed the fourth floor and most of the third floor. Damages were estimated at $1 million. Repair work began almost immediately after the fire, and Lee Hall was restored to its old form. Lee Hall is also home to the Bettersworth Auditorium which regularly hosts international performers as part of the Lyceum Series.

MAFES Sales Store

The MAFES Sales Store is a unit of the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station and is housed in the Herzer Food Science Building on the Mississippi State University campus. The Store exists as an outlet for MAFES research and educational products. Many products sold are produced on the MSU campus by faculty, staff, and students. Each year, 90,000 pounds of cheddar cheese; 15,000 pounds of jalapeno cheese; 5,000 gallons of ice cream; and 48,000 balls of Edam cheese are sold. The MAFES Sales Store is open 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. each week day and on Saturdays before home football games. It is closed during most university-scheduled holidays.
Visit the MAFES Sales Store online.

Mississippi Horse Park

President's House

Steam Plant

Steam Plant

 

In 1921 the Steam Plant was built in the Industrial style. The massive building (more than 21,000 square feet of interior space) orginally housed two coal-fueled Skinner steam engines that provided electricity and distributed water and heating to the entire institution. Still a power plant, the Mississippi Landmark facility now uses fuel oil to generate hot and cold water for heating and cooling older campus buildings.

 

203 Herbert St.

GEO: 33.454030-88.786470

 

The Junction

The Junction

 

The newest landscaped area for ultimate football tailgating, the Junction is the place where eight different roads used to converge, affectionately known as "Malfunction Junction." In the summer of 2012 Southern Living Magazine announced MSU's inclusion in the top 20 schools with the best tailgating celebrations. In the middle of this grassy area is where the railroad tracks used to run. Starkville was chosen as the location for MSU based on its railroad access (at that time most people traveled by train) and little night life. MSU in its early days was a male military school with Reserve Officer's Training Corps. In those days the term ROTC stood for "Riding Over to Columbus" to pick up their dates at Mississippi State College for Women, now Mississippi University for Women.

 

GEO: 33.455129; -88.794003
See a 3D Panorama of the Junction in Winter

The University Florist

The University Florist is conveniently located on Lee Blvd., adjacent to Davis Wade Stadium. The Florist is operated by faculty and students of MSU's Floral Management program in the Department of Plant and Soil Sciences, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. The florist is open weekdays and during home football game days.

 

 

The University Florist

 

Plant and Soil Sciences – http://www.pss.msstate.edu


College of Agriculture and Life Sciences – http://www.cals.msstate.edu

 

Veterans Memorial Rose Garden

Mississippi State University’s Veterans Memorial Rose Garden is located across State Highway 182 from the main campus at the entrance of R. R. Foil Plant Science Research Center--commonly known as North Farm. The area features a central gazebo surrounded by raised brick-bordered beds and three arbors. Compliant with the Americans with Disabilities Act, the peaceful public space is home to more than 200 plants and 60 rose varieties, including Old Garden, modern shrub and groundcover. Spring and fall are the peak blooming seasons.In addition to ongoing community tours, the garden is the frequent meeting site for garden and master gardener organizations, among others. Given its location on grounds of the Foil Plant Science Research Center, the garden is part of a multi-site study area for scientists with the MSU-based Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station.

 

Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station – http://www.mafes.msstate.edu

Veterans Memorial Rose Garden – http://www.rosegarden.msstate.edu

 

Back to Table of Contents

S.M.A.R.T. Transit

Giles S.M.A.R.T Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Giles Hall Stop

 

Served By:

Old Main Express

Central Loop

Evening Loop

Research Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T University Drive/Old West Point Rd Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Stromboli's Stop

 

Served By:

Old Main Express

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Collegiate Heights Stop

 

Served By:

Boartdown Loop
Sportsplex Express

 

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Allen Hall Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Allen Hall Stop

 

Served By:

Central Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Brickfire Project Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Brickfire Stop

 

Served By:

Boardtown Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. First Presbyterian Stop

S.M.A.R.T. First Presbyterian Stop

 

Served By:

Old Main Express

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Fraternity Row

S.M.A.R.T. Fraternity Row Stop

 

Served By:

Greek Loop

Evening Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Greensboro Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Greensboro Stop

 

Served By:

Old Main Express

 

See arrival times

 

S.M.A.R.T. Hardy Rd

S.M.A.R.T. Hardy Rd. Stop

Served by:

Central Loop

Evening Loop
See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Humphrey Coliseum

S.M.A.R.T. Humphrey Coliseum Stop

 

Served By:

Central Loop

Evening Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. OCH Regional Medical Center Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Oktibbeha County Regional Medical Center Stop

 

Served By:

Boardtown Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Oak and Magnolia

S.M.A.R.T. Allen Hall Stop

 

Served By:

South Lpop

Evening Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Patriot Park Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Patriot Park Stop

 

Served By:

Old Main Express

 

See arrival times

 

S.M.A.R.T. Roberts Building

S.M.A.R.T. Roberts Building Stop

 

Served By:

Central Loop

Evening Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Scales Lot

S.M.A.R.T. Scales Lot Stop

 

Served By:

South Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Sorority Row #1

S.M.A.R.T. Sorority Row #1 Stop

 

Served By:

Greek Loop

Evening Loop

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Sorority Row #2

S.M.A.R.T. Allen Hall Stop

 

Served By:

Greek Loop

Evening Loo

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Sportsplex Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Montgomery Hall Stop

 

Served By:
Sportsplex Express

 

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Forest Products Stop

 

Served By:
Sportsplex Express

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Child Development Center Stop

 

Served By:

Research Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Downtown Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Reed's/Libby Storey Stop

 

Served By:

Boardtown Loop
Old Main Express

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Montgomery

S.M.A.R.T. Montgomery Hall Stop

 

Served By:
Greek Loop

South Loop
Sportsplex Express

Evening Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop

S.M.A.R.T. The Mill Stop

 

Served By:

Highway 12 Express

 

See arrival times

 

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Parkside Apartments Stop

 

Served By:

Boardtown Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Starkville Crossing Stop

 

Served By:

Highway 12 Express  

See arrival times

 

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop

S.M.A.R.T. HPC2 Stop

 

Served By:

Research Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Multi-Tennant Stop

 

Served By:
Research Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Vowell's Grocery Stop

 

Served By:

Highway 12 Express 

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Crossgates/Avalon Stop

 

Served By:

Boardtown Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Walmart Stop

 

Served By:

Boardtown South

Highway 12 Express 

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Transit Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Chandler Apartments Stop

 

Served By:

Boardtown Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. University Drive East

S.M.A.R.T. Sweet Peppers/Laundromat Stop

 

Served By:

Old Main Express

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. University Drive West

S.M.A.R.T. St. Joseph Catholic Church Stop

 

Served By:

Old Main Express

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Welcome Center

S.M.A.R.T. Welcome Center Stop

 

Served By:

Central Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Wise Center

S.M.A.R.T. Wise Center Stop

 

Served By:

South Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.R.T. Zacharias Village

S.M.A.R.T. Zacharias Village Stop

 

Served By:

Central Loop

Evening Loop

 

See arrival times

S.M.A.RT. Transit Stop

S.M.A.R.T. CAVS Stop

 

Served By:

Research Loop

 

See arrival times

Spruhill Townhouses Stop

S.M.A.R.T. Sportsplex Stop

 

Served By:
Boardtown Loop
Sportsplex Express

 

See arrival times

Back to Table of Contents

Student Services

ITS Help Desk and Campus Card Office

Back to Table of Contents

Lactation rooms

Lactation room
Thompson Hall, 1st floor
Lactation room
Longest Student Health Center, 3rd floor
Lactation room
The Wise Center, Library
Lactation room
Bost Extension Center
Lactation room
Colvard Student Union, 3rd floor
Lactation room
Culls Wade Depot/Welcome Center, 2nd floor
Lactation room
Allen Hall, 4th Floor
Lactation room
Lloyd Ricks

Back to Table of Contents

Museums and Galleries

Colvard Student Union Art Gallery

Located on the 2nd floor of the Colvard Student Union, Showcases rotating exhibitions of regional and national scope.

 

Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 10 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday 10 a.m. - 10 p.m. 662-325-2930.

 

http://union.msstate.edu/centerforstudentactivities/

Cullis Wade Clock Museum

Located at the Cullis Wade Depot, this collection of over 400 clocks and watches dates back as far as the early 1700s.

 

Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 662-325-5198.

 

http://www.visit.msstate.edu/clockmuseum

Cullis Wade Depot Art Gallery

The Department of Art manages three galleries that offer rotating exhibitions of art by nationally recognized artists: Cullis Wade Depot Art Gallery (second floor of the MSU Welcome Center), Department of Art Gallery in McComas Hall, and the Visual Arts Center Gallery.

Visit the website for complete details on all galleries and upcoming exhibitions or call 662-325-2970.

http://caad.msstate.edu/wpmu/artnews/department-galleries/

 

https://www.facebook.com/MississippiStateUniversityVisualArtsCenterGallery

Cully Cobb Museum

Showplace for more than 350 antique tools and primitive machines. Forest Products Laboratory.

 

Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 662-325-2116.

 

http://digital.library.msstate.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/frt

Department of Art Gallery

The Department of Art manages three galleries that offer rotating exhibitions of art by nationally recognized artists: Cullis Wade Depot Art Gallery (second floor of the MSU Welcome Center), Department of Art Gallery in McComas Hall, and the Visual Arts Center Gallery. Visit the website for complete details on all galleries and upcoming exhibitions or call 662-325-2970. Find us on Facebook: MSU Art Galleries.

https://www.facebook.com/MississippiStateUniversityVisualArtsCenterGallery


http://caad.msstate.edu/wpmu/artnews/department-galleries/

Dunn-Seiler Museum

The Department of Geosciences houses a gallery with exhibits that focus on rocks, minerals, fossils, and other items of geologic interest, including an overview of the geologic history of Mississippi and a cast of a real Triceratops skull.

 

Please call 662-325-3915 for current museum hours.

 

http://geosciences.msstate.edu/museum.htm

Giles Architecture Gallery

Giles Architecture Gallery offers rotating architecture exhibitions of regional and national scope. Giles Hall.

 

Monday-Friday 8am-5pm, Saturday 1pm-5pm, and Sunday 2pm-5pm. Summer hours Monday-Friday 8am-5pm, closed weekends. For more information contact the School of Architecture at 662-325-2202.

 

http://www.caad.msstate.edu/sarc/exhibits.php

Historic Costumes and Textile Collection

Costumes and related items dating from the mid-1800s to the present. Moore Hall. Tours by appointment only. 662-325-1293.

Lois Dowdle Cobb Museum of Archaeology

 

Artifacts from the ancient Middle East and the Southeastern United States. Cobb Archaeology Building.

 

Tours by appointment only. 662-325-3826.


http://www.cobb.msstate.edu/Museum.html

Mississippi Entomological Museum

Third largest insect collection in the Southeastern United States, with 1 million specimens. Includes the Ross Hutchins and David Young photograph collections with more than 40,000 slides and prints.

 

Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 662-325-2989

 

Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment – http://www.mafes.msstate.edu

 

Mississippi Entomological Museum – http://mississippientomologicalmuseum.org.msstate.edu/

Mississippi State University Herbarium

The Mississippi State University Herbarium is a research collection of dried, pressed plants.  The collection is the official plant collection of MSU and contains ca. 32,000 specimens, with an emphasis on southeastern U.S. collections.  The collection is housed in Harned Hall Rms. 159-160 and visitation is by appointment

 

Contact Dr. Lisa Wallace (lisawallace@biology.msstate.edu or 662-325-7575).   


http://herbarium.biology.msstate.edu/

Mitchell Memorial Library

A variety of scheduled exhibits and permanent exhibits from its collections, including The Charles H. Templeton Sr. Music Museum, the Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library and memorabilia from alumnus and best-selling author John Grisham. 662-325-7679.

 

http://lib.msstate.edu/museums/

Visual Arts Center (VAC)

Visual Arts Center 2 (VAC)

Back to Table of Contents

Tour Content

Lee Hall

Lee Hall. 1909. Beaux Arts. Named for Stephen Dill Lee, the first president of the university, Lee Hall was built as an academic building and chapel. In the early years, it served as the main administration building housing the President, his secretary, the registrar, the comptroller, and the commandant of cadets. Also, up to 150 classes were conducted there daily. In October of 1948 a fire broke out on the roof where construction workers had been working with tar. The fire destroyed the fourth floor and most of the third floor. Damages were estimated at $1 million. Repair work began almost immediately after the fire, and Lee Hall was restored to its old form. The building reopened in 2014 after receiving a $21 million dollar renovation. Today, this grand building houses the English Department, Foreign Languages, President's Office, and Provost's Office.

Back to Tours

McCain Engineering Building

McCain Engineering Building. 1905. Beaux Arts. Richard H. Hunt, architect. Known for many years as the Engineering Building, it was eventually named for Professor Dewey M. McCain, longtime head of the civil engineering department. Renovated in 2003, it currently houses the Dean of the Bagley College of Engineering and the industrial engineering department.

Back to Tours

Carpenter Hall

Carpenter Engineering Building. 1910. Beaux Arts. Named for Randle Churchill Carpenter (class of 1895), the first graduate of the engineering school and head of the mechanical engineering department 1918-1938. Houses the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Back to Tours

Bowen Hall

Bowen Hall. 1929. Romanesque Revival. Named for James V. Bowen, father of the business curriculum at Mississippi State. Bowen, who had only one eye, was known to the students as "Bad Eye." Houses the Department of Political Science and the Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work.

Back to Tours

Steam Plant

Power Plant. 1921. Industrial.

Back to Tours

Herbert Hall

Herbert Hall. 1929. Romanesque Revival. Named for John C. Herbert, early professor of humanities/government. Herbert Hall serves as the home for the Department of Housing and Residence Life as well as additional housing for students and conferences.

Back to Tours

Industrial Education and Seed Laboratory

Industrial Education and Seed Laboratory. 1900. Italianate. The Industrial Education Building started out as the Textile Building, home of the short-lived textile school. By 1914, with virtually no enrollment, the textile school dismantled its machinery and was out of business. This building is easily recognized because of its distinctive twin towers and triple arches. Throughout its history, this building has been home to agricultural engineering, the building and grounds department, and most recently, to the technology and education program. The National Register of Historic Places added the Industrial Education Building to its list in 1975.

Back to Tours

Stennis Institute

The Stennis Institute of Government. 1928. Commercial. Originally the campus depot for the Mobile and Ohio Rail Road.

Back to Tours

Montgomery Hall

Montgomery Hall. 1902. Beaux Art. Richard H. Hunt, architect. Montgomery Hall was originally known as the Scientific Hall because it housed all the science classes, but it also accomodated the university's library for a short time, too. As volumes in the library increased, space in the second and third floor apse, to which the library was consigned, remained limited. So the library was moved in 1921 to newly built Harned Hall. The Scientific Hall was renovated in 1939 and renamed for Col. W.B. Montgomery, great-grandfather of Rep. Sonny Montgomery (D-Miss.).

Back to Tours

Perry Cafeteria

Perry Hall (University Cafeteria). 1921. Late Gothic Revew. The gothic arches and wood beams that support its gabled roof are more suggestive of a cathedral than a cafeteria. A the time it was built, the University Cafeteria was the largest college cafeteria in the United States; so big, it was also used as a dance hall. This massive structure stands 368 feet long, 90 feet wide, and the ceilings are 50 feet high. Also, the cafeteria has a seating capacity of 1100. In 1993, Jane Perry provided the university with a $1.5 million gift annuity to renovate and preserve the cafeteria. Mrs. Perry made the gift in memory of her late husband, George D. Perry, a 1919 graduate of what was then Mississippi A&M College. In recognition of Mrs. Perry's gift and George Perry's long association with his alma mater, the name of the university's cafeteria was changed to Perry Hall.

Back to Tours

Lloyd-Ricks-Watson Building

Lloyd-Ricks Building. 1929. Jacobethan Revival.Named for E.R. Lloyd, director of both the experiment station and extension service around 1915; J.R. Ricks, director of the experiment station, extension service and school of agriculture from 1935 to his death in 1938; and former MSU President Vance Watson.

Back to Tours

Hull Hall

Hull Hall. 1938. Georgian Revival. Named for David C. Hull, president from 1920 to 1925.

Back to Tours

YMCA Building

YMCA Building. 1914. Italianate. The Young Men's Christian Association organized at the university in 1882. As membership and activities rose, the need for a YMCA building became evident. John D. Rockefeller pledged $40,000 to the cost of construction, under the condition that the students would raise the other $20,000 that was needed. Dr. W.A. Weatherford, an official of the Southern Area YMCA, came to the university, organized the students, and led the fundraising campaign. The money was raised, and the building was erected. For many years, the YMCA called this building home. Today, it is still known as the YMCA Building, and it houses the Post Office.

Back to Tours

George Hall

George Hall. 1902. Colonial Revival. When it was built as the campus infirmary, the James Z. George Memorial Hospital was considered one of the best facilities of its kind in the South. George, who as a United States senator became known as "The Great Commoner," was extremely instrumental in securing appropriations for the construction. In 1918, a Spanish flu epidemic took its toll on the campus of Mississippi State, and several students succumbed. Because of this, a temporary embalming operation was set up in the basement of the infirmary. The James Z. George Memorial Hospital served as the university's medical facility until 1965. Today, George Hall is home to the Office of Public Affairs, the university's public information office.

Back to Tours

Magruder Hall

Magruder Hall. 1938. Georgian Revival. Named for W.H. Magruder, the head of the English department from 1883 to 1908. Houses the Department of Psychology.

Back to Tours

Harned Hall

Harned Hall. 1921. Late Gothic. Originally known as the Biology Building, it was eventually named for H.H. Harned, long-time head of the microbiology department. The library was moved from Montgomery Hall to Harned Hall in 1921 and remained there until Mitchell Memorial Library was built in 1952.

Back to Tours

Middleton ROTC Building

Middleton Hall (ROTC Building). 1910. Colonial Revival. From 1910 until 1940, the ROTC Building was the home of the Dairy Department. After the Dairy Department moved out, the building became known as the Student Activities Building until 1951. That is when the Military Science Department moved into the building. They shared the building with the Famous Maroon Band until 1954, when the Band moved to its present location. The Military Science Department (Army ROTC) continues to occupy the building today, along with the Aerospace Studies Department (Air Force ROTC). In 1986, the building was named after General Troy H. Middleton, commander of the 45th Infantry Division in World War II.

Back to Tours

Welcome Center & Cullis Wade Depot


Welcome to Mississippi State University!

 

The Welcome Center is located adjacent to Barnes and Noble in the Cullis Wade Depot. The Welcome Center serves as the front door of MSU and home to the Cullis & Gladys Wade Clock Museum.

 

Address: 75 B.S. Hood Drive, Mississippi State, MS 39762

Welcome Center

 

The Welcome Center is located adjacent to Barnes and Noble in the Cullis Wade Depot. The Welcome Center serves as the front door of MSU and home to the Cullis & Gladys Wade Clock Museum. 

Back to Tours

The Junction

In the Fall, the Junction is the heart of Bulldog tailgating. The Bulldog family gathers here in excitement on game days to watch the football team enter the stadium during the Dawg Walk and to hear the Famous Maroon Band warm up. During the rest of the year, the Junction is home to a wide variety of activities such as the Fall Festival and Holiday in the Junction. It also serves as a peaceful place for students to hang up a hammock. The north end of The Junction is home to Davis Wade Stadium at Scott Field. 

Back to Tours

The Union

The Colvard Student Union is a three-story “campus living room,” serving as the center of student life at MSU. The Union offers students a wide variety of options from the P.O.D. convenience store to study areas to the newly built Union Plaza, perfect for socializing. 

Back to Tours

The Marketplace at Perry Cafeteria

The Marketplace at Perry Cafeteria is an "all you care to eat" buffet. Students can find several menu options ranging from international entrees to Southern-cooked soul food. The Marketplace at Perry Cafeteria is open for breakfast and lunch, and for Saturday dinner.

Back to Tours

Montgomery Hall

Montgomery Hall, previously known as the campus library, now houses the Office of Admissions and Scholarships, the Office of Student Support Services, and the Career Center. Students interested in a Campus Visit begin their tours here!

Back to Tours

McCool Hall

McCool is home to MSU's College of Business, the oldest college of business in the state and one of the oldest in the South. In McCool, you'll find the Adkerson School of Accountancy, an elite International Business program, and the PGA Professional Golf Management Program, which is one of 18 in the nation certified by the PGA.

Back to Tours

The Drill Field

Located at the Center of the MSU campus is the Drill Field, a popular gathering place for students. Students use this open green space for various activities from movie nights to a game of Quidditch!

Back to Tours

Mitchell Memorial Library

The Mitchell Memorial Library is one of the largest libraries in Mississippi, and it houses over 2 million volumes in printed publications and provides numerous facilities and services for students such as computer labs, study rooms, presentation rooms, an Instructional Media Center, reference specialists, research guides, and access to special collections. It is also the home to Einstein Bros. Bagels, the Templeton Music Museum and the Grisham room, where some of John Grisham’s original manuscripts are on display. Grisham is an alumnus of Mississippi State with a bachelor's degree in Accounting.  

Back to Tours

Engineering Row

On the opposite end of the Drill Field is Swalm, a mirror image of Lee Hall and home to the Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering. Beside Lee Hall is McCain, home to Civil Engineering and Industrial and Systems Engineering, as well as our Cooperative Education Program. Next to McCain is Carpenter, home to Mechanical Engineering. MSU's Bagley College of Engineering is recognized by organizations such as the National Science Foundation and the U.S. News & World Report for its excellent academic programs and research.

Back to Tours

Lee Hall

Lee Hall is home to the university administration offices, including the President of Mississippi State, Dr. Mark Keenum. Prior to his appointment as MSU's 19th President in 2009, he served as the Under Secretary in the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Dr. Keenum holds bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from Mississippi State. Lee Hall is also home to the English and Foreign Language departments, and it is named for the 1st President of MSU, Stephen D. Lee, whose statue is located near the center of the Drill Field.

Back to Tours

The Chapel of Memories

The Chapel of Memories serves as a quiet and peaceful area for students to rest, fellowship, and socialize.

Back to Tours

Live Oak

Botanical Name: Quercus Virginiana

Back to Tours

Leland Cypress

Back to Tours

American Sycamore (Moon Tree)

Back to Tours

Southern Magnolia

Back to Tours

Green Ash

Back to Tours

Bald cypress

Back to Tours

Willow Oak

Back to Tours

Ginkgo

Back to Tours

Southern Pecan

Back to Tours

Yellow Poplar

Back to Tours

Sweetbay magnolia

Back to Tours

Common fig

Back to Tours

Saucer magnolia

Back to Tours

Japanese maple

Back to Tours

Ginkgo (Melting tree)

Back to Tours

Slash pine

Back to Tours

Nuttall Oak

Back to Tours

Water oak

Back to Tours

Red maple

Back to Tours

Post Oak

Back to Tours